Sodastream Fizz Review

So, I see the Sodastream Fizz has caught your eye. As the newest member of the Sodastream Home Soda Maker lineup, that’s not surprising but I’m guessing you are here because you are trying to determine if the Sodastream Fizz is all it’s cracked up to be. You’ll be glad you found my Sodastream Fizz Review when we’re finished today. There are a lot of misconceptions about the Sodastream Fizz and I’ll admit, I shared most of them until I got my hands on one and put the Sodastream Fizz to the test myself. I’ll bet you’re surprised by what I’ve learned.

Before we move on, I want to make sure you’re in the right place. There’s no point wasting time if you’re looking for different information than I’m about to provide. This page offers a detailed Sodastream Fizz Review. We’ll start with a short video on how to operate the Sodastream Fizz, move into a discussion about its unique Fizz Chip Technology, what’s included in the starter kit and the pros & cons. Next up is my no B.S. review of the Sodastream Fizz after putting it through the paces along with a few helpful tips. Finally, I’ll show you how to get the best price and FREE SHIPPING on the Sodastream Fizz in the color of your choice. We aren’t covering the more general aspects of the Sodastream Home Soda Maker line. Unless you’re looking specifically at the Sodastream Fizz, you might want to head over to my Sodastream Review page.

Important note: Before Leaving this page, make sure you read through my Sodastream Fizz Updates

Still with me? Good…let’s get started…

United States Click Here for FREE SHIPPING on the Blue, Black, Green, Red or Pink Sodastream Fizz!

United Kingdom Attention UK Visitors: CLICK HERE to get FREE SHIPPING on the White or Black Sodastream Fizz

Sodastream Fizz Tip: I want to make sure you picked up on a couple of things from this Sodastream Fizz video. Did you notice how she pressed on the back lever of the Sodastream Fizz when attaching and detaching the bottle? If not, watch it again. This is important and if you don’t do this, you’ll likely be splattered with carbonated water when you detach the bottle. I also want to make sure you caught how she tilted the bottle when pouring in the Sodastream Syrup. Miss this step and you’re soda will create a fizzy mess!

Luke’s Rating for Sodastream Fizz:

Sodastream Fizz

Editor's Rating
Style / Design
Ease of Use
Construction Quality
Durability
Perceived Value
Average Rating

 

Sodastream Fizz – Fizz Chip Technology:

The Sodastream Fizz is the first in the Sodastream lineup to offer Fizz Chip Technology. This handy little chip adds a bit of convenience and information previously missing in other Sodastream models.

  • Never Run out of C02: The “Fizz Chip” monitors the level of Co2 in the carbonator so you’ll never run out unexpectedly again. This item has been on the wish list of many Sodastream customers for quite some time and is a welcomed feature of the Sodastream Fizz.
  • Monitors Carbonation Level of Beverages: As you press the carbonating button, the Sodastream Fizz monitors the level of carbonation you add to your drink. You’ll always know whether your drink has light carbonation, average carbonation or is highly carbonated. I must admit, however, I had to force myself to pay attention to this indicator while testing the Sodastream Fizz. As an experienced Sodastream user, carbonating the perfect beverage is second nature. I can see this feature being of benefit to a new user but suspect it will go ignored once one becomes comfortable with the unit.

Sodastream Fizz Home Soda Maker Kits Include:

  • Sodastream Fizz Home Soda Maker
  • 1 BPA Free Plastic Carbonating Bottle
  • 1 60 Liter Carbonator (Co2 Cartridge)

Pros:

  • Easy to Use
  • 5 Color Options (Red, Blue, Black, Green & Limited Edition Pink (Benefits Susan G. Komen for the Cure))
  • Convenient Access to Carbonator for Replacement
  • Accommodates 60 Liter or 130 Liter Carbonator (Co2 Cartridge)
  • Top Lever Easily Tilts Unit for Attaching/Detaching Carbonating Bottle
  • Fizz Chip Technology Monitors Co2 Levels in Carbonator & Drinks
  • Sturdy & Durable Design
  • Make Sparkling Water & Soda in 30 Seconds or Less
  • No Bulky Bottles or Cans to Store or Carry
  • Dramatically Reduces Waste & Recycling
  • BPA Free Carbonating Bottle is Safe for Children
  • Tight Seal Keeps Drinks Fresh & Fizzy longer than Store Bought Brands
Cons:
  • Unit Includes Only 1 Carbonating Bottle (Additional Bottles Recommended)
  • Plastic Carbonating Bottle Must be Hand Washed
  • Carbonating Bottle must be Replaced Every 2 Years

 

United States Click Here for FREE SHIPPING on the Blue, Black, Green, Red or Pink Sodastream Fizz!

United Kingdom Attention UK Visitors: CLICK HERE to get FREE SHIPPING on the White or Black Sodastream Fizz

 

My Sodastream Fizz Review:

Sodastream Fizz
I must admit; I was a bit surprised when I tested the Sodastream Fizz. My initial impression while researching the unit was that it is nothing more than a Sodastream Fountain Jet with a display. While there are some strong similarities between the two, I must admit the Sodastream Fizz is the superior unit. The design of the machine makes it much easier to use and handle than what I am used to with the Sodastream Fountain Jet. It is much more ascetically pleasing and it doesn’t have the same cheap clunky feel as my Fountain Jet. The Sodastream Fizz is a solid unit that is constructed very well and performed consistently. After testing the unit, there is a part of me that secretly wishes my Fountain Jet would meet an untimely end so I could justify replacement with the Sodastream Fizz. With that said, however, there are a few things I feel could be improved.
  • Only One Carbonator Included in Starter Kit
  • Only One Carbonating Bottle
  • Fizz Indicator Promotes Over Carbonating

While none of these are major issues with the product itself, they do cause me to drop my rating for the Overall Value of the unit. The good news is that with each update of this page, the list of desired improvements above becomes shorter. This tells us that Sodastream and Merchants are responding to consumer feedback and the product continues to improve. In earlier updates, we had very limited availability for the Sodastream Fizz, could only find the unit in limited colors, there were no free shipping options or value kits available. This is no longer the case and I can show you how to get free shipping for the Blue, Black, Green or Red Sodastream Fizz. I would strongly recommend picking up some extra carbonating bottles with your Sodastream Fizz. You can usually pick up a “twin pack” of SodaStream 1L Carbonating Bottles or 0.5 Liter Carbonating Bottles for under $20. The Stainless Steel SodaStream Bottle can typically be found for around $15.

Overall, I give the Sodastream Fizz high marks and a strong recommendation. I will continue to update this review as things change so my readers have the most up to date information.

Sodastream Fizz Update: 12/29/2011: I have received several email messages and a few comments below from folks that have defective Fizz Chips in their Sodastream Fizz. I made the decision to reach out to Sodastream directly to see if I could get some additional information and am pleased to report they replied promptly to my inquiry. Based upon the response I received, there are two known issues with the Sodastream Fizz.

  • The battery in the Sodastream Fizz Chip may be depleted more quickly than Sodastream originally estimated. In what appears to be an extremely proactive approach to rectifying this issue, Sodastream began including a spare battery with each Sodastream Fizz package in Mid-October. Simply switching to the spare battery should resolve over 96% of the problems with a Fizz Chip that does not function properly.
  • Sodastream has identified one lot of Sodastream Fizz Home Soda Makers that received a defective Fizz Chip. Sodastream has replacement Fizz Chips in stock and is shipping them Free of Charge to those that received a defective Fizz Chip. If you have replaced the battery and your Fizz Chip still does not function properly, simply call Sodastream at 1-800-763-2258 to request a replacement Fizz Chip. Your Sodastream Fizz will still work and carbonate beverages properly until your replacement Fizz Chip arrives. The only limitation will be that you are unable to view your CO2 consumption or Fizz Levels of your beverages until the Fizz Chip is replaced.

In any manufacturing process, you are bound to have defective units make it through production. How companies handle these problems tells us a great deal about the character of the company and whether or not you should choose to do business with them. Sodastream’s response to my inquiries makes it clear they stand firmly behind their products. The response was not only timely but detailed enough for me to provide you with the information above. Sodastream was under no obligation to provide such a response to me and the fact they did only strengthens my belief they are a reputable company. If you are experiencing problems with your Sodastream Fizz, you can call Sodastream directly at 1-800-763-2258 or e-mail them at info@sodastreamsupport.com.

Sodastream FizzSodastream Fizz Update: 01/18/2012: I have received a lot of email messages from Sodastream Fizz users with questions about how much carbonation they should use. In discussions with them, I have realized the Fizz Chip in the Sodastream Fizz seems to encourage users to use more CO2 than necessary when making beverages. For example, users have stated it can take in excess of 6 or 7 buzzes to get the Fizz Indicator to the Top Level. This may be what Sodastream Considers High Carbonation but in my opinion, it is excessive. Excess carbonation will not harm your Sodastream Fizz and it will not ruin your beverages. However, it can cause disappointment when you begin to realize how quickly the carbonator is depleted. If you get a Sodastream Fizz, I would recommend ignoring the Fizz Chip to start. Try carbonating your sparkling water or sodas to 3 buzzes and see what you think. You can always increase or decrease how much CO2 you use in your drinks but I would not rely on the Fizz Chip in the Sodastream Fizz. If you do decide to use the Fizz Chip as a guide, don’t be surprised if you only get 20 to 30 liters of sparkling water or soda from your Sodastream Fizz.

Sodastream Fizz Update: 02/06/2011: I am contemplating how to revise this Sodastream Fizz page. While I like the date stamp update format I have been using to address questions/challenges with the Sodastream Fizz as they arise, I am concerned that an anxious visitor might skip past these updates and make a hasty decision they may regret. Each interaction I have with a Sodastream Fizz owner and each call I make to Sodastream on behalf of my readers leaves me just a touch more skeptical about the quality of this Sodastream model. Here are my current concerns about the Sodastream Fizz:

Luke’s Concerns About the Sodastream Fizz:

  • The Fizz Chip does not operate as Sodastream’s materials would suggest. The chip does not measure the amount of carbonation in your carbonator or in your drinks. Instead, it bases the display on the number of times you press the carbonating lever. This leads many Sodastream Fizz users to over carbonate their drinks and use more CO2 than is necessary. In addition, the Fizz Chip only provides a “rough estimate” of how much CO2 remains in the carbonator.
  • While Sodastream claims the number of defective Fizz Chips is very low, I have been engaged by enough Sodastream Fizz owners to be concerned about the integrity of the chips. Sodastream is standing behind their customers and replacing all defective Fizz Chips in a timely manner but the need to replace defective parts is discouraging. I will continue to monitor this and update this page accordingly. On a positive note, I will say that Sodastream may be getting this problem under control. I have not received many e-mail messages about Fizz Chip problems recently but I question if this is due to Sodastream’s resolve in correcting the problem or the level of detail I am providing on this Sodastream Fizz page. Only time will tell us which it is.
  • Sodastream can’t tell us what the expected battery life for the Fizz Chip should be. Sodastream has indicated that the batteries do not last as long as originally anticipated but we don’t have enough information to know how frequently the average Sodastream Fizz owner will need to replace their battery. While I consider this a very minor problem, it is still something a potential Sodastream Fizz customer should be aware of.  Finally, based upon reports from visitors of this site, the batteries do not last very long at all and require frequent replacement.

I have adjusted my ratings for the Sodastream Fizz based upon these concerns to more accurately reflect my current opinion of this model. This drops my overall rating of the Sodastream Fizz to a 3.5 and more accurately reflects my concerns about Construction Quality and Durability. If your heart is set on the Sodastream Fizz, just take these concerns into consideration as you are making your decision.  I also want to point out that my original statement about replacing my Sodastream Fountain Jet with a Sodastream Fizz is no longer true. Should my Fountain Jet finally die, I doubt the Sodastream Fizz would be my first choice from the Sodastream Home Soda Maker lineup.

I will eventually update this page and eliminate the updated sections above. However, I will not do this until enough time has passed to see if the problems related to the Fizz Chip have been solved and I have a better understanding of overall user experience. If you are a Sodastream Fizz user, please take the time to leave your own Sodastream Fizz Review using the user ratings and comments at the bottom of this page. The more feedback we can get from current Sodastream Fizz owners, the easier it will be for everyone to determine if this model is right for them.  I aslo encourage Sodastream Fizz users that experience problems with their unit to comment below or use my Contact Me page to send me an e-mail message.  I track all reports of problems, request clarification from Sodastream when necessary and report those findings here.

Sodastream Fizz Update: 09/27/2012: At this time, I am not recommending the Sodastream Fizz to visitors of this site (or to anyone else for that matter).  For a while, I stopped getting private messages complaining of the Fizz and I mistakenly believed Sodastream must have addressed some of the problems with the Fizz Chip and the poor battery life.  This does not seem to be the case and I’ve recently gotten many messages and some comments from folks that purchased a Sodastream Fizz prior to finding my site.  These folks are reporting the same problems and I have formed the opinion Sodastream must not have addressed the problem.  Unless you just have your heart set of the Fizz for the style and design of the model and are willing to accept the problems related to the Fizz Chip, I strongly recommend you consider another model in the Sodastream lineup.  I am once again adjusting my ratings of this model based upon recent reports and lowering the overall score accordingly.

New Limited Edition Pink Sodastream Fizz:

Pink Sodastream Fizz

Sodastream has announced a new partnership with Susan G. Komen For the Cure. As part of this partnership, Sodastream has designed and produced a brand new Limited Edition Pink Sodastream Fizz. Sodastream has pledged 5% of the cost of every Pink Sodastream Fizz will be donated to this wonderful foundation in support of early detection efforts and breast cancer research. Sodastream entered this partnership guaranteeing a $20,000 minimum donation to the foundation. If you would like to learn more, visit my new page for the Limited Edition Pink Sodastream Fizz.

Sodastream Fizz Value Kits:

Finally! Sodastream Value Kits are now Available for customers that wish to benefit from bundled savings over purchasing items individually. These kits include additional items such as Sodastream Sodamix samples, an extra bottle and extra carbonators. Many customers will find the Sodastream Fizz Value kits to be the best option for them.

 

Sodastream Fizz Seltzer Value Kit Sodastream Fizz Soda Value Kit Includes:

  • Sodastream Fizz Home Soda Maker
  • 2 60 Liter Carbonators
  • 3 Carbonating Bottles
  • 6 Sodastream Sodamix Flavors (your choice) – Each Sodamix Bottle makes approximately 12 Liters of Soda
  • Sodastream Sodamix Variety 12 Pack

This is likely the best kit option I’ve seen to date. You pick your color, select 6 Sodamix Flavors you want to try and everything you need to start enjoying your Sodastream Fizz is shipped in one convenient box.

Click Here for Discount Pricing on the Sodastream Fizz Soda Value Kit

 

Sodastream Fizz Soda Value KitSodastream Fizz Seltzer Value Kit Includes:
  • Sodastream Fizz Home Soda Maker
  • 3 60 Liter Carbonators
  • 3 Carbonating Bottles
  • Sodastream Sodamix Variety 12 Pack
  • My Water Flavor Essence Variety 3 Pack (Orange, Berry & Lemon Lime)

Click Here for Discount Pricing on the Sodastream Fizz Seltzer Value Kit

 

Don’t need a Sodastream Fizz Value Kit?

United States Click Here for FREE SHIPPING on the Blue, Black, Green, Red or Pink Sodastream Fizz!

United Kingdom UK Visitors: CLICK HERE to get FREE SHIPPING on the White or Black Sodastream Fizz

Thanks again for visiting My Sodastream Review (dot) com. If you have not already done so, you might want to visit my Sodastream Review page for a detailed review of the Sodastream Home Soda Maker product as a whole. You might also benefit from my Sodastream Sodamix page to make sure you’ll be pleased with the Sodastream Flavors available. If you are still comparing the various Sodastream models available, you may which to check out my Sodastream Review for the:
If you have questions that were not answered above, please feel free to leave them in the public comments below or Contact Me privately. I wish you good fortune in your Sodastream Fizz Adventure.
My Sodastream Review . com is targeted to those new to the Sodastream Home Soda Maker product line. If you landed on this page and happen to own a Sodastream Fizz, please take a moment to leave your Sodastream Fizz Review below.  It is very easy to leave a review and will only take a moment.  Just scroll the the bottom of this page, click on the ratings for your Sodastream Fizz and enter some comments in the form to tell us about you personal experience with the Fizz.  Your review will be very helpful to others considering the Sodastream Fizz.

 

DMCA.com
Sodastream Fizz Review2.7Luke2012-09-27 17:50:05So, I see the Sodastream Fizz has caught your eye. As the newest member of the Sodastream Home Soda Maker lineup, that’s not surprising but I’m guessi…
Average Ratings (from 14 ratings)
Style / Design
Ease of Use
Construction Quality
Durability
Perceived Value
Average Rating
67 Responses to Sodastream Fizz Review
  1. Kim
    September 27, 2012 | 4:37 PM

    Hi Luke,

    I purchased a SodaStream with the Fizz Chip just yesterday, September 26, 2012 and like most consumers the Fizz Chip did not work. I contacted Customer Service today, and they are sending me a new Fizz Chip. I wish I had read your review sooner, as now I am concerned that this will be an ongoing issue with either the Fizz Chip or the battery. I am still on the fence as to whether to return the machine and opt for a less expensive model. Either way, the review/comments were helpful.

    • Luke
      September 27, 2012 | 5:08 PM

      Hi Kim,

      Thanks for visiting the site and taking the time to leave your comment. I’m sorry to hear you got a unit with a defective Fizz Chip. I can’t tell you what you should do as far as exchanging the model for another or keeping it. This will come down to a personal decision. There are quite a few comments on this page and throughout the rest of the site from folks that went both ways after experiencing the problem with he Chip. I will tell you this, however…

      Whether you keep your Fizz or switch to a different model, you will find the Fizz Chip is not necessary to produce excellent sparkling water and soda. It seems like a nice benefit when you read/hear about it but MOST people end up carbonating based upon experience and personal preferences. You end up knowing how many buzzes/whistles/chirps (whatever sound your model makes) you prefer and the display becomes rather useless for carbonating. The only possible benefit would be knowing how much CO2 is in your carbonator but by Sodastream’s own admission, this feature of the Fizz is only an estimate and not highly accurate. Most of us just choose to have a spare carbonator (CO2 Cartridge/Tank) on hand so we can switch it out when there is no more CO2 left.

      If you would like to use my Contact Me page to send me a private message, I would be happy to give you a call or exchange email to talk about your personal needs and preferences. This might help you make your decision and if you decide to exchange, I can help you select the best model for you. There is also a lot of information on the site to help you make your decision. Thanks again for your comment. – Take good care, Luke

  2. Betty
    August 26, 2012 | 9:08 PM

    I have a question concerning the chip on my Fizz, I switched out my CO2 carbonator after 3 months, but after putting in the new bottle, the indicator is still showing that I have an empty bottle. I pushed the reset button, but it still shows the same..is there anything I can do to fix it or do I just ignore what it shows. I did not get an extra battery with my Fizz, but since the display is as bright as when I first used it, I don’t think the problem is with the battery. Has anyone had this problem? Other than that, I continue to enjoy my Fizz. This time I am keeping count of how many bottles I get from one carbonator, the first bottle was a learning experience and I am sure that I did over carbonate upon occasion. The only thing I have changed my mind on as far as the review, is the ease of use. Sometimes it is a bit hard to twist the bottle onto the machine, but I still love, love, my Fizz. Thank you, Luke for your site! I have relied upon it to get the latest on the flavors and machines.

    • Luke
      August 27, 2012 | 1:19 PM

      Hi Betty, Thanks for the comment and question. I’ve had one other visitor that complained of a similar problem with the Fizz Chip. If memory serves, they initially told him it was the battery. He replaced it but it did not solve the problem. Sodastream ended up replacing his Fizz Chip to resolve the problem. I would recommend giving Sodastream a call directly to have them troubleshoot the problem with you. If they determine it is, in fact, the chip, they should send you a replacement at no cost to you. You can reach Sodastream USA directly at 1-800-763-2258. If you live outside the USA, just let me know and I’ll help you track down the number for your country. Thanks again for visiting the site and leaving your comments/questions. – Take good care, Luke

      • Betty
        August 29, 2012 | 1:31 PM

        Thank you,Luke! I called the number you gave me and the solution was to hold the reset button down til it beeps, and it reset itself. It now shows a full bottle. I will let you know if any other problem develops. Thanks again for your help.

        • Luke
          August 29, 2012 | 1:34 PM

          Great News Betty! I am glad the fix was so simple and they didn’t have to replace your Fizz Chip. Thank you for keeping us updated. I am sure other visitors will find your comments helpful. – Take good care, Luke

  3. Jerry
    August 10, 2012 | 5:32 AM

    I bought the Fizz and love the soda. However I don’t recommend the Fizz to others due to the fact it devours the batterys. I have had the machine for 7 months and am on the 4th battery. The sodastreme is a wonderful machine, but don’t waste the extra money to get the Fizz.

    • Luke
      August 10, 2012 | 11:43 AM

      Jerry, Thank you for leaving your review on the Sodastream Fizz. Each time I believe Sodastream may have resolved the problems with the Fizz, I get an email or comment from someone that continues to have problems or points out the Fizz Chip/Battery issue. The comments have slowed down a bit but that is likely due to the information provided on this page. I agree with your advice to others. Unless you are just in love with the Fizz for some reason, it is not a model I would recommend. Thanks again for your comments. – Take good care, Luke

  4. France Langelier
    July 25, 2012 | 9:35 PM

    I bought my Fizz only yesterday so I haven’t had the chance to really try it yet. I was going to purchase the Genesis but it cost more at the store than on their website, so I went for the Fizz which was only $10 more, and I liked the style. Mine’s a pearl colour. I was a little hesitant mainly because of what I’ve been reading about the chip, but I plan on relying more on the buzzes than the indicator. I did a lot of reading on your site and looked at the videos, so you really helped me make an informed decision, and I didn’t make a mess with my first bottle. Thanks, Luke! I’ll come back with another review after I’ve tried it for a while.

    • Luke
      July 25, 2012 | 9:42 PM

      Thanks for coming back and leaving your review France. I have not received any complaints on the Fizz Chip for some time now. I don’t know if that’s because I covered all the problems in my review or if Sodastream has solved the problem. Here’s hoping it’s the later.

      Thanks again for the review. Please feel free to come back and provide updates as you become more familiar with the Fizz. You can leave an update by using the reply link below your original message. – Take good care, Luke

      • France Langelier
        August 11, 2012 | 8:35 AM

        Hi Luke
        I have been using my Fizz for almost 3 weeks, at least once or twice a day, and I am not disappointed. My husband is a big soda drinker, especially diet coke, so it’s great that we always have syrup on hand rather than those big two litre bottles that we have to store until we return the empties. My Fizz came with an extra battery but I haven’t had any battery problems yet. I pay very little attention to the meter, relying on the buzzes instead for carbonization. In my case, I bought the Fizz for its look and because it was on sale. I knew what I was getting into, thanks to your site.

        • Luke
          August 11, 2012 | 12:15 PM

          France, Thanks for coming back and leaving an update on your experience with the Sodastream Fizz. I am very happy to hear the Fizz is working out and you aren’t having any of the problems reported with this model. Hopefully, you are one of the lucky ones that never experience a problem with the Fizz. I think your point about using buzzes instead of the display for carbonating is an important one. The display is a nice feature but it is not a requirement for making perfectly carbonated beverages. Thanks again for the update. – Take good care, Luke

          • France Langelier
            September 8, 2012 | 11:22 AM

            Hi Luke

            I thought I would update you on my Fizz. I have had it for a little more than 6 weeks now, and we use it a LOT. I am already on the 3rd carbonating bottle, but I suspect that they don’t last long for two reasons: 1) we drink a lot of soda (I love it just plain) and 2) my husband’s technique is to draw down on the lever long and hard so that it buzzes within just two strokes, so I think he’s carbonating it to the max. I don’t think we’re saving any money just yet considering, but it’s still very much worth it to always have soft drink available. No regrets!

            • Luke
              September 9, 2012 | 3:45 PM

              France, Thanks for keeping us updated on your experience with the Fizz. I am pleased to hear you are still happy with yours. Your hubby’s method of carbonating isn’t the most efficient but it probably doesn’t make a huge difference in overall yield but I would have to see what he’s doing to know for sure. In general, Fizz users seem to report going through carbonators faster than other Sodastream users. I don’t own a Fizz myself so I can only go by what is reported. Thanks again for keeping us updated! – Take good care, Luke

    • France Langelier
      July 26, 2012 | 8:10 PM

      Hi Luke
      I don’t think I saw this question anywhere on your sites. Can we carbonate the smaller bottles with the SodaStream, or only the 1 litre and fill the singles from that?

      • Luke
        July 27, 2012 | 11:24 AM

        Hi France, I assume you are referring to the 1/2 liter bottles Sodastream now sells. Yes, you can carbonate in these bottles just as you do the 1 Liter bottles. I’ve received many messages from visitors stating they actually prefer these smaller bottles because they offer a reasonable serving and are much easier to transport in a purse or backpack. Just remember, you’ve got to reduce the amount of syrup by about 50% based on the smaller size.

        Thanks again for your question. – Take good care, Luke

  5. Steve J
    June 22, 2012 | 7:54 PM

    While I have only owned my Fizz for about a week now, I feel I have mastered it already thanks in part to this site, Luke and other folks that have commented. Love it’s stylish design. Ease of use is excellent as well.

    Now to the part I am not so fond of. The beverage fizz level indicator. Seems like it is setup to require way too much carbonation. Which is fine, I wanted it for the CO2 level indicator.

    Now the fun part, customizing beverages. This is really the fun part to me. Trying different recipes, I have even mixed a couple different sodastream mixes.

    After I have owned it for a while I will come back and give another review and even post some ideas. I really love this site.

    I think for the office, I would like to get a Fountain Jet.

    Thanks again Luke for this site, very well done and very professional.

    • Luke
      June 24, 2012 | 2:07 PM

      Steve,

      Thanks for visiting the site and taking the time to leave your review of the Sodastream Fizz. I agree with your comment about the setup leading to over carbonation…it’s actually one of my bullet points above but with so much information on this page, I’m glad you also mentioned it in your review. I look forward to your update after you use your Fizz for a while. Feel free to come back to the site and click on the “Reply” link under your original review to include any additional comments you wish to share. Good luck with your new Sodastream Fizz. – Take good care, Luke

      • Steve J
        July 11, 2012 | 10:54 AM

        I am on my 3rd week of use. I have gone through my first 60L carbonator. I have figured out I was using was too much carbonation. What I have notice that the first time you press the lever, if you hold it down till the noise occurs, then the drink carbonation level indicator maxes out. So what I do now is count the seconds for that first press of the lever and then I can quickly determine the level. I also do not press the lever more than once now.

        I love this machine though. Now that I have practical experience with it, I think it is a really good machine for a novice such as myself. The Carbonator CO2 level indicator is quite accurate.

        I have absolutely zero regrets getting this machine.

        My favorite flavors: Dr. Pete (tastes so close to Dr. Pepper I can’t believe it), Cola, Cherry Cola, Orange, Grape, Root Beer (tastes perfect, I use slightly less then a full cap of syrup though.).

        One note about the cherry cola. It is over powering as others have mentioned. I Mix it up as 1/3 Cola Syrup to 2/3 Cherry Cola syrup. Then it isn’t so over powered.

        Thanks again for this site Luke, it should be REQUIRED reading for anyone who wants to get a SodaStream machine. So many helpful bits of info packed everywhere.

        Take Care!

        • Luke
          July 11, 2012 | 12:46 PM

          Steve,

          Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your review on the Sodastream Fizz. I am happy to hear you are pleased with the Fizz and found the site helpful. Please feel free to come back and provide updates on your review by leaving a reply should you have anything new to share as you continue using the Fizz. Thanks again, Luke

  6. Betty Pruitt
    June 8, 2012 | 4:42 PM

    I had planned on getting a Genesis after reading
    your review on the Fizz, but since I was given a
    Fizz for my birthday..decided to keep it in spite of the somewhat negative review. I love it! I have not had it long enough to comment on the life of the battery or the chip, but I can honestly say that it was an easy thing to master! Right out of the box, I was able to make the pink grapefruit flavor..and it was delicious!
    I will let you know if it develops any of the problems stated in the review. This 64 year old grandmother is looking forward to trying all the flavors!

    • Luke
      June 8, 2012 | 4:48 PM

      Hi Betty,

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your review and comments. Congratulations on your new Sodastream Fizz. I am very happy to hear that you are not experiencing any of the problems mentioned in my review. Feel free to come back and leave a reply to your original review after you have used the Fizz for a while. Thanks again for your comments. Take good care, Luke

  7. India Hamner
    March 12, 2012 | 7:07 PM

    Luke, thanks for all your info. Not only did your comments help with the decision about our purchase, but we used your comments to learn how to use our Sodastream. I think the instructions that come with the machine are just vague and it is hard to figure out if you have never seen one of these demonstrated. Our Fizz Chip does not work and when I called for help I was told the battery was probably started in the box so I have to go buy a new one. I think, after reading your comments, we are going to use our Sodastream with out the Fizz Chip. Thanks again for your work on this! India

    • Luke
      March 12, 2012 | 8:50 PM

      India, Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your Sodastream Fizz Review. I am happy to hear my site was helpful. I was not, however, happy to hear about the response you received from the Sodastream representative you spoke with. It is not their standard process to advise you to go buy a new battery. I was concerned that perhaps Sodastream changed their processes so I reached out to them via phone after reading your comment.

      The Sodastream representative I spoke with tonight confirmed their process has not changed. He confirmed they are still shipping spare batteries in all Sodastream Fizz kits. He also confirmed that if your battery is dead and no spare was included in your kit, they are to ship you a spare at no cost to you. The Sodastream representative immediately recommended I ask you to call back in so they could resolve this for you. If you receive the same response, I would ask to talk with a supervisor. While it is true you don’t need the fizz chip to use your Fizz, you just dropped $150 on a product that doesn’t work properly. Sodastream should be more than willing to take care of this for you.

      Thanks again for your comment. Please let me know if you decide to call Sodastream again and how they handle it. If you prefer, you can engage me privately using my Contact Me page. – Take good care, Luke

  8. Scott
    February 20, 2012 | 3:58 PM

    Luke,

    Thanks for all of the information. I read your entire site before purchasing a Fizz. I like it pretty well and mainly use it for carbonated water. I prefer fizzy over still. I have a problem with mine and wondered if you have heard of this before. Once my CO2 cartridge gets to the half full level, the performance goes down hill quickly. When full I get that loud buzz after holding the lever down for only about a second. I keep doing that until it’s at max carbonation. With the cartridge half full I don’t get that buzz at all. I can carbonate the same bottom three times in a row and it’s still not as carbonated as when the tank is full. If this is normal it certainly wasn’t worth the cost. Any thoughts?

    Thanks

    Scott

    • Luke
      February 20, 2012 | 4:21 PM

      Hi Scott, Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your question. I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with your Sodastream Fizz. What you are describing is not normal for a Sodastream in general. I can tell you that once in a while, I’ve gotten a bad carbonator (CO2 cartridge) and experienced a similar problem. The problem was resolved when I exchanged the defective carbonator.

      Is this your first carbonator or is this an exchanged carbonator that is causing the problem? Have you only had the problem with this carbonator or does this seem to happen with every carbonator you use? By answering these questions, we should be able to determine if this is a carbonator issue or a Sodastream Fizz issue.

      I would like to share a quick tip with you though. Pressing and holding the carbonating lever until you get a buzz is not the best way to carbonate with a Sodastream. The best method for carbonating would be to press the lever for short controlled bursts. This helps agitate the water and better distributes the CO2. Take a look at the 2nd video on my Sodastream Fountain Jet page and watch how Tiffany carbonates her water. You’ll notice she uses very short and controlled bursts while carbonating. If you follow her example, you should get excellent results every time. Another tip would be to make sure you are using chilled water. Cold water carbonates much better than warm water and the colder the better.

      Your method of carbonating could be contributing to your lack of buzz and poor carbonation but I suspect there is something more going on. If you could answer my questions above, it will give us a better idea of whether it is the Sodastream Fizz itself or the carbonator that is causing your problem. If it is the Sodastream Fizz, I’ll recommend you contact Sodastream and have them troubleshoot the problem with you. If they confirm it is the Sodastream Fizz that is defective, they should replace it for you free of charge under the warranty. I look forward to your reply. Until then, take good care, Luke

      • Scott
        February 20, 2012 | 8:08 PM

        Luke,

        Thanks for the information. This is my second carbonator (exchanged) and I have had this problem with both. I am almost done with this one and will exchange it and use your tips for carbonating and see how it goes.

        Thanks again,

        Scott

        • Luke
          February 20, 2012 | 8:28 PM

          Scott, You are more than welcome. If this problem happened with the original carbonator (the one that came in the box) and an exchanged carbonator, it is likely there is a problem with your Sodastream Fizz. If you don’t see improvement using my tips, call Sodastream directly to have them trouble shoot the problem with you. They may need to replace your unit. If you are in the United States, you can reach Sodastream directly at 1-800-763-2258. If you are not in the US, just let me know and I’ll help you track down the right number for your country. Please come back to the site and update us on how things go with your Sodastream Fizz. – Take good care, Luke

          • Scott
            February 20, 2012 | 9:46 PM

            Many thanks!!

            • Bob
              April 5, 2012 | 12:25 PM

              I purchased a SodaStream Fizz about a mounth ago and have the same problem now. I reached out to the company (thanks for the number Luke!) and was told to use two – two second bursts and that should somehow get the buzzer to start working again. (shrug) I don’t really see how that will work, but I will try tonight.

              • Luke
                April 5, 2012 | 5:57 PM

                Bob, Please let us know if it solves the problem with your buzzer. I hate to contradict Sodastream but I’m not hopeful this will resolve the problem. Hopefully, I’m wrong and you’ll report your Fizz is working perfectly again. If it doesn’t work, I would call and talk with another representative and/or ask to talk with a supervisor. – Take care, Luke

  9. Jeff
    January 31, 2012 | 5:26 PM

    I got a Fizz for Christmas – love it! I like my seltzer “belchilious” so the tank’s not lasting long. But, last night the Fizz Chip stopped working – blank screen. I remember reading about the bad chips on your site when researching the model to tell Santa about, but so far so good. Anyway, called the 800 number and they say they’ll be sending a new one in 7-10 biz days. I’m keeping my fingers crossed…

    • Luke
      January 31, 2012 | 6:46 PM

      Jeff, Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your Sodastream Fizz Review. Sorry to hear you ended up with one of the bad Fizz Chips. Based on the others I have talked to in the same situation, the new Fizz Chip should solve the problem for you. I please come back and update us on how this goes for you. – Thanks again, Luke

      • Jeff
        February 3, 2012 | 6:17 PM

        Hi again – got the new fizz chip today!! Less than 3 days since I called Sodastream about it!! Swapped with no problem. Only thing, it shows the tank as full, even after I press the reset – it only had 1 line left before it went bad, so I’m not sure what’s really in the tank. Any ideas? Did the old chip show low gas due to it failing or is the full reading on the new chip inaccurate?

        • Luke
          February 4, 2012 | 1:01 PM

          Hi Jeff, A Bonus Sodastream Fizz Chip! That can’t be a bad thing. I would take the battery out if it were me. Based on my conversations with Sodastream, the battery life is not what they originally anticipated. I would do everything I could to prolong the life of the spare battery. Thanks again for sharing your experience on the site. Please feel free to come back and give us updates on how your Fizz holds up over time. – Take good care, Luke

  10. Sara
    January 8, 2012 | 3:06 PM

    I have seen a battery mentioned in the comments for the fizz…do you know how long the battery lasts? On average or even just what the company predicts, I can’t find anything about it. Also what knid of battery is it, so I can price replacements?

    • Luke
      January 8, 2012 | 5:02 PM

      Hi Sara, Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your question on my Sodastream Fizz page. I think I just replied to another question of yours on my Sodastream Review page. The Sodastream Fizz uses a common watch battery, CR-2032 Lithium Battery. It was originally expected to last approximately 5 years but as you can see by my comments above, they are not lasting as long as Sodastream originally anticipated. I could not honestly tell you how much life you could expect to get out of the battery in the fizz chip.

      If you are concerned about the problems with the Fizz chip or the battery life, I would recommend going with another model. The fizz chip is a great idea but it is not needed to properly carbonate beverages. I like the idea of a visual indicator for how much CO2 remains in the carbonator but otherwise, I don’t feel the chip offers a great benefit. You would likely ignore the indicator while carbonating beverages once you have used the Sodastream Fizz for a while.

      Thanks again for leaving your question about the Sodastream Fizz. – Take good care, Luke

  11. Cassie
    January 7, 2012 | 2:36 PM

    I bought the Fizz just after Christmas at Bed Bath and Beyond. It was a kit with the Fizz, 1 CO2 tank, 1 bottle (1L) and 1 sampler pack of flavors. It also had the spare battery and battery replacement instructions. It was $149.99 but had a $20 mail in rebate. I had a 20% off coupon as well so ulimately was just under $100. I did buy a couple of the 0.5L bottles which I actually like using better than the 1L bottle – makes less soda so less risk of going flat and more chance to test out flavors.
    The first time I used it the buzzing sounds actually made me think it was broken – I don’t know just what I expected but certainly not that sound. Anyway, with the Fizz Chip, I just ignore the buzzes and watch the carbonation indicator on the left side. So far, it works great, and I have had no issues with the flavors – I actually prefer Splenda to other sweetners.

    • Luke
      January 7, 2012 | 2:44 PM

      Hi Cassie, Thank you for visiting the site and leaving your Sodastream Fizz Review. That buzzing sound is not what anyone expects when they first use a Sodastream. I have watched people burst into hysterical laughter when they hear it for the first time. Congratulations on getting your Sodastream Fizz! – Luke

  12. Richard in PA
    January 5, 2012 | 4:16 PM

    Received the Penguin as a gift; exchanged it for a Fizz at Williams-Sonoma because the Penguin seems best suited for selzer you consume at home, not soda that you take with you.

    A question – do you have recommendations for any online Sodastream users’ communities? Is there one that folks gravitate to most? Interested in recipe ideas, flavor reviews, other thoughts.

    I’ll attach my ratings so far…

    • Luke
      January 6, 2012 | 8:56 AM

      Richard, Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your ratings for the Sodastream Fizz. I don’t know that I completely agree with your view of the Penguin being best suited for seltzer or sparkling water but I would agree the glass bottles may seem a bit heavy for toting around. Sodastream models that use plastic bottles now have optional 1/2 liter bottles that are perfect for sparkling water or soda on the go. While I understand your point, I don’t want other visitors to mistakenly believe the Penguin is just for seltzer. That just isn’t the case.

      There are a few places out there you can visit but not many. Just do a Google search for “sodastream forum” and you will find what is available. It is funny you bring this up at this time. I have considered adding a forum to this site and creating a user community for quite some time. I am currently talking with a Webmaster of another site about combining efforts to create a user community. I can’t promise when that will happen but it is something we are in process of discussing. There would be an announcement on my site should we decide to launch this.

      As far as recipes, we are starting to see some very good recipe books now. I have reviewed Andrew Schloss’ Soda Recipes book and am in the process of trying out another. I agree a user-based community would be a great place to share favorite recipes, tips, etc. I wish you the best of luck in your search. If you find a community you like, please feel free to come back and share it on my site. – Take good care, Luke

  13. Peter
    January 1, 2012 | 12:48 PM

    I have a Fizz and returned the first one since the Fizz chip didn’t show how much co2 was going in. It showed level one sometimes then disappeared and once I got it to level 2 after probably 8 buzzes. I returned it per Sodastreams request and now the new one acts the same way. Is there a trick to getting this to work consistently or is it my chip? Trust me when I say the co2 and bottle are screwed in tight. I know it’s not crucial for it to work perfectly, but for $130 I kind of want it to work right. Do you blame me?

    • Luke
      January 3, 2012 | 11:09 AM

      Peter, Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your comment about your Sodastream Fizz. No, I don’t blame you at all.

      You should not need 8 buzzes to carbonate your water. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever carbonated past 5 buzzes for a very fizzy beverage. The Fizz works just fine without the Fizz Chip and once you are used to the model, I doubt you will look at the display for anything other than checking the CO2 in your carbonator. Still, the display should work properly and if it isn’t, Sodastream should make it right. Just to make sure you are getting your best results, I want to make sure you are doing a couple of things.

      First, make sure you are using chilled water. It is best to use water that has been refrigerated for at least a couple of hours. Cold water carbonates more easily and gives you the best results. Next, I want to make sure you are using short, quick, controlled bursts of CO2 to carbonate the water. Don’t just press the lever until the machine buzzes. Press it quickly for a short burst over and over. The quick bursts of CO2 agitate the water, disperse the CO2 more efficiently and produce the best results. When you hear your first buzz, your water should be lightly carbonated. You can add additional bursts of CO2 for more buzzes until you get the water the way you like it. I prefer very carbonated beverages and will usually carbonate from 3 – 5 buzzes depending on what I am making.

      When I was testing the Fizz, I did feel like the number of buzzes required to move the indicator was not always consistent but it was usually only off by a buzz or two. There should be no reason it takes 8 buzzes to get to level 2 if you follow my instructions above. If you follow my method of counting buzzes to judge your carbonation level, your results should be extremely consistent. Still, your Fizz Chip should work properly and there is no scenario I see where it should take 8 buzzes to achieve level 2 carbonation on the Sodastream Fizz.

      Try my method of carbonating and see what happens. If you continue to have the same problem with the display, I would recommend replacing the battery with the spare as mentioned above. If that does not solve the problem, call Sodastream and ask for a replacement chip. They will ask you a few questions to confirm the problem is with the chip and send you a replacement. Sodastream’s number is 1-800-763-2258.

      Thanks again for visiting the site and leaving your Sodastream Fizz question. Please leave me a reply to let me know how this all works out for you. – Take good care, Luke

      • Peter
        January 16, 2012 | 11:47 AM

        I replaced my Fizz for another one and the new average 5-7 buzzes to get to level 3. I’ve been counting my liters and may get to 30 if I’m lucky. Not really that great, but I’m keeping it anyway. If I were younger with less money I’d probably not keep it since it would be hard to accept the overpriced co2 refills. If priced those at a realistic price, I feel Sodastream would increase see drastically and easily make up the difference. In fact they should make a 20 pound tank system that fits under the countertop, rather than 3rd part options that will in time bite them or some competitor will simply use a more universal adaptor rather than their special proprietary one.

        • Luke
          January 16, 2012 | 12:45 PM

          Peter, It sounds as if your new Sodastream Fizz is functioning correctly. Carbonating to 5-7 buzzes will definitely mean your yield from your carbonators will be lower than average. Have you tried making your sparkling water or soda with just 3 buzzes? I find that for most beverages, 3 buzzes is more than enough carbonation but I will go up to 5 if I’m in a really fizzy mood. You just have to understand that higher carbonation levels in your beverages will reduce the number of liters you can make from a Carbonator. Thirty liters of soda from one carbonator with an average of 5-7 buzzes is pretty good. Again, the beauty of the Sodastream is your ability to completely customize your beverages to your liking. – Take care, Luke

  14. Tracy
    December 31, 2011 | 10:49 PM

    After reviewing your great site, we bought the Fizz for Christmas from Bed Bath and Beyond and am happy to say it works great and has been working since with no problem. The only complaint is that the bottle came with out a top : – ( We searched the box in and out and was no where to be found. We are very happy and have had no problems. We are able to see the fizz level . Thank you so much. Would love to know how to add other flavors other than the ones they sell if possible.

    • Luke
      January 3, 2012 | 10:14 AM

      Tracy,

      Thanks for taking the time to visit my site and leave your own Sodastream Fizz Review. This is very much appreciated and will help others that come to the site. I am sorry to hear about the missing cap for your bottle. Sodastream is very good about standing behind their product. I would recommend giving them a call and asking them to ship you the missing cap. You can reach Sodastream at 1-800-763-2258. If you live outside the US, just let me know and I will help you track down the correct number. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your review. I wish you the best of luck in your Sodastream Fizz adventure! – Take good care, Luke

  15. Steven
    December 28, 2011 | 1:16 AM

    I too received a Sodastream for Christmas with a bad fizz chip. Took it back to Bed Bath and Beyond for an exchange. Got home and tried it out. Sadly, it had the same problem. It shows the amount left in the Carbonator but does not indicate the level of carbonation you desire for your drink. Even after replacing the extra battery that came in the box, still didnt work. Called customer service at Sodastream and they are sending me a new fizz chip. Hopefully this takes care of the problem.

    • Luke
      December 28, 2011 | 7:50 AM

      Steven, Thanks for visiting the site and taking the time to leave your comment. I am sorry to hear that you are having problems with your Sodastream Fizz. Apparently, Sodastream is still experiencing problems with the Fizz Chip technology. Based on what I know, the replacement chip will solve the problem but it is rather disappointing that Sodastream continues to produce units with defective fizz chips. I will set some time aside to reach out to Sodastream and see what information they can share about the defective Fizz Chips. I will update the content of this page accordingly once I have talked with them. Thanks again for sharing your experience with your Sodastream Fizz. Please come back and give us an update once you receive your replacement chip. – Take good care, Luke

  16. Kari
    December 19, 2011 | 4:36 PM

    Hi Luke,

    My boyfriend is a soda junkie and I am thinking about getting hims this for Christmas, but have read that the CO2 indicator breaks and doesn’t work. Is this true?

    Thanks!

    • Luke
      December 19, 2011 | 5:34 PM

      Hi Kari, Sodastream did have a little problem with the Sodastream Fizz for a short period of time. Out of the over 12,000 people that visited my site during this time, 3 people wrote me indicating they were having a problem with the Sodastream Fiz. I investigated the issue when the second complaint came in and discovered there was a “bad batch of Fizz Chips” (Sodastream’s words, not mine). Sodastream had already discovered the problem and addressed. Two of the three people exchanged their Sodastream Fizz and reported the new units worked perfectly. The third person decided to exchange for a different model that was easier for her to use (her arthritis made it difficult to press the lever for carbonating and she exchanged for the Sodastream Pure). It has been quite a while since I received any reports of defective units so I would think you are safe getting your boyfriend a Sodastream Fizz for Christmas. If he were to have problems, the retailer would surly exchange the unit or Sodastream would ship him a replacement Fizz Chip to resolve the issue. Thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave your question. – Happy Holidays, Luke

      • Tim
        December 26, 2011 | 12:01 PM

        Regarding the Fizz chip…i just opened mine up on Christmas night…we were really happy to get one from my inlaws. Its really awesome…i must have received one of the bad fizz chips because the fizz chip did not work…i called the customer service line and they are sending one as soon as the new batch is received…the machine still works without it but you just have to monitor the amount of CO2 you put into it.

        • Luke
          December 27, 2011 | 12:41 PM

          Tim, Thank you for visiting the site and taking the time to leave your comment. I am sorry to hear that you ended up with a Sodastream Fizz that has a bad chip. It was my understanding that these units should no longer be in circulation. Sodastream must have gotten more than one batch of bad chips. Once you get used to using the Sodastream Fizz, I doubt you will use the Fizz Chip Display for anything more than checking the amount of CO2 left in your Carbonator. The chip is a great idea but it isn’t really needed to successfully use a Sodastream. Please keep me posted on the replacement chip and how things go with your new Sodastream Fizz. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your comment. – Take care, Luke

  17. Elvin
    December 12, 2011 | 5:15 PM
    Average Rating
    Style / Design
    Ease of Use Not Rated
    Construction Quality Not Rated
    Durability Not Rated
    Perceived Value

    Luke, thanks so much for putting this site together. Well done. I am a research junkie and you saved me hours of going through other websites. I just puchased the Fizz from BB and Beyond for a Christmas gift. I look forward to using it.

    • Luke
      December 12, 2011 | 5:20 PM

      Elvin, From one research junkie to another, thanks. I put this site together because when I started looking at the Sodastream, there just wasn’t much out there. With that in mind, I tried to put together I site I wished I could have found when I was in research mode myself. I am glad that it was able to help you out. I also wanted to thank you for taking the time to submit your comments with a review of the Sodastream Fizz. The more reviews we can offer on the site, the more effective it will be in helping others decide if Sodastream is right for them. Thanks for leaving your comment and review. I wish you all the best with your Sodastream Fizz. – Take good care, Luke

  18. Kelly
    December 6, 2011 | 2:09 PM

    I am thinking of buying a soda stream! I am pretty sure i want the Fizz, but i was reading one of your comments on another page and it said something along the lines of be careful when choosing because the taste of some of the sodas can be affected. I was curious of what that meant. I am mainly getting the sodastream for the natural flavors and just plain soda water. Is the Fizz a good choice for me? I have been trying to compare each of them.

    thanks Kelly

    • Luke
      December 6, 2011 | 2:21 PM

      Hi Kelly, Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your question. For the life of me, I can’t recall what comment you are referring to. Typically when I talk about the taste of the beverages made with the Sodastream, I am talking about using quality water or the artificial sweeteners used in the Sodastream Flavors. If you can point me to the comment you are referring to, I can provide clarification. Perhaps I wasn’t clear in what I said and need to make a revision to one of my pages.

      When it comes to the taste of the end product, it really doesn’t matter which unit you use. The sparkling water and soda I make with my Fountain Jet tastes the same as what I make with my Penguin and my neighbor’s Genesis. I noticed no difference in taste when I tested the Sodastream Fizz. Variations in taste typically come from water quality, the level of carbonation you use (over carbonating can make sparkling water a bit bitter) and of course, what you add into the water after carbonation. Whether you are using the Sodastream Sodamix, Sparkling Naturals or are making your own Homemade Soda, you should not be able to tell the difference in taste from one model to another.

      Again, if you can point me to the comment you are referring to, I can either provide clarification or correct the comment so it is clear. Thanks again for visiting the site and taking the time to leave your question. I wish you the best of luck in your Sodastream Fizz adventure. Please make sure to come back to the site and leave your own review in the comments section below once you have used the Sodastream Fizz for a while. – Take good care, Luke

  19. Jim
    December 5, 2011 | 5:06 PM

    Hi Luke,

    Love your site. Lots of great information on the Sodastream line of products. I’m in the market for one myself and would like to get a Fizz for the holidays.

    One quick question? Have you had any experience with using distilled water with the Sodastream? I drink bottled distilled water at home and would like to use this with the Sodastream, instead of bad tap water.

    Thanks for your answer.

    Jim

    • Luke
      December 5, 2011 | 8:14 PM

      Jim,

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your question. I don’t personally use distilled water. I prefer to filter my tap water than lug the bottles from the store. With that said, however, many people report using both spring and distilled water with the Sodastream to make great tasting sparkling water and sodas. The important thing is that you realize you can’t use poor quality tap water to make high quality beverages.

      Thanks again for the question and kind comments. I wish you the best of luck in your Sodastream Adventure. Please feel free to come back and leave your own review once you have used your Sodastream Fizz for a while. I apologize that the review plugin required you to submit ratings to get your question to me. Unfortunately, I can’t change or remove your ratings but I have corrected the error so other visitors are not forced to do the same.

      Take good care, Luke

  20. Barb
    September 12, 2011 | 10:56 AM

    I have had my Sodastream for almost a month now, and not for even one second, have I regretted this purchase. For one, I do not miss lugging those six packs in from the grocery store. My trash cans do not have to be dumped nearly as much. And, I do not need to find extra storage space for my bottles on a weekly basis. The convenience is extraordinary!!!!

    I was concerned at first that making up the bottles would be a hassle, but even at my laziest, making a bottle of soda takes seconds!!! I always keep a filtered water bottle full and it’s so convenient to fill a couple of carbonator bottles from it. While I am making the soda, I refill the water bottle. And, keeping the bottles clean is so quick and easy. I just swish in a drop of detergent and rinse out. The only thing I wish for now is a bottle drying rack, which I am going to pick up today. It looks like there is quite a variety of baby bottle drying racks, and I am hoping that some of these might work for me. If you have found any other way to handle the drying of your bottles, I would like to hear from you.
    I can always stick them in the dishwasher to dry, but I’m not sure that would be best for me.

    All that being said, I have to tell you that I am truly enjoying my cola flavors, as well as the sparkling juices I make. I have even make some melon drinks. I usually take my leftover cut melon which is getting too ripe and throw it in the freezer until a time when I can take it and puree it in my blender. Then I use this puree to flavor my carbonated water. It’s a real treat!

    Thanks so much for making it possible for me to have the confidence to purchase this and use it in so many ways. I can’t remember a purchase I have enjoyed so much!

    Barb

    • Luke
      September 12, 2011 | 11:49 AM

      Barb,

      I am very happy to hear that you are enjoying your Sodastream Fizz. You offered some good tips for other visitors. I had never thought about using a baby bottle drying rack for drying the bottles. That’s the best idea I’ve come across for drying the bottles. I will have to pick one up for the plastic bottes I use at the office. I like using fruits in the sparkling water too. Just about any fruit you enjoy works well in this way. Thanks for taking the time to leave comments about your Sodastream Fizz experience. They are most appreciated! – Take good care, Luke

  21. Barb
    August 17, 2011 | 10:30 AM

    Luke,

    Thanks so much for responding to my first post! As you suspected, with time and experimentation, I am getting much better with my Sodastream Fizz. As a side note, I purchased this model based on your reviews, and your comment that you will purchase if and when your Fountain Jet dies. I decided that after all your experiments, if you were interested in the model, I might as well splurge and get what I really wanted the first time. I am pleased that I made this decision.

    I am getting much better at controlling my bursts for carbonation. You are correct, it just takes quick firm bursts. I was definitely overcarbonating at first.

    I am still experimenting with the syrup. I had no idea that I might want to fill the cap to the top. I was only using 1/3 to 1/2 capful. Of course, I can always add a bit more to the bottle if I feel like it is not to my liking.

    I did experiment with orange juice last night. I wanted something without caffeine and I was in the mood for something fruity. How great is this???? I can choose to make whatever sounds yummy at the time. I don’t have to run to the store, or wait for my craving to pass! I did use bottled orange juice, not concentrate. And, to make the carbonated drink flavorful, I poured some of the carbonated water back into a 1/2 liter bottle (they didn’t have 1 liter bottles where I bought my unit), then poured the orange juice into my larger bottle, and also poured some into the half-filled 1/2 liter bottle. So, I ended up with a liter and a half of fizzy orange juice. It was good. It took me less than a minute. And, I have some left to enjoy today! As a matter of fact, I put the remaining juice from my 1 liter into my extra 1/2 liter bottle and made Coke Zero in my only 1 liter bottle to have on hand for today.

    It is obvious that I need some additional 1 liter bottles and I will be looking for them locally, but I’m not sure that I will find them. Do you have any recommendations for the best site to purchase additional supplies from? I have looked all over, and it appears that the prices are pretty much comparable anywhere you look. Some places vary by a dollar or two, based on price and shipping. It doesn’t look like I am going to find a real deal for these 1 liter bottles much under $20. Does that compare with your experience?

    Thanks so much for taking the time to put together such a comprehensive site. I love my new Sodastream Fizz and can’t wait to share it with friends and family!!!!

    Barb

    • Luke
      August 17, 2011 | 11:39 AM

      Hi Barb, I am very happy to hear how pleased you are with the Sodastream Fizz. It can be rather exciting when you first get a Sodastream and realize everything you can do with it. I also like mixing the carbonated water with fruit juices. I have yet to meet a fruit juice I didn’t like better by adding some carbonated water to it. If you like blood oranges, try squeezing the juice from one and adding some carbonated water from your Sodastream Fizz. It’s quite yummy.

      I am surprised you are having difficulty finding the extra carbonating bottles locally. With the exception of the Stainless Steel bottel, these are usually relatively easy to find at a local store. My local purchases are usually at Bed Bath & Beyond since they seem to have the best selection and pricing for accessories in my area. When I’m in a bind and just can’t get supplies locally, I will order them from Amazon. There are some items, such as the caps for the glass carafes and some sodamix flavors, that I have to get directly from Sodastream. If you can’t find the bottles locally, I’d recommend getting them from Amazon. They usually have the best price and if your order is over $25, you will qualify for free shipping.

      Thanks again for the comments and kind words. Take good care, Luke

  22. Barb
    August 15, 2011 | 10:54 PM

    Just purchased the Fizz after reading your reviews today and I was very excited to get started . . . maybe a bit too excited. I had trouble at first getting the carbonation to enter or stay in the bottle. I put the carbonator back in and refilled my bottle and reattached it and after a little experimenting (I don’t think I was pressing as firmly and quickly as necessary, I got it to fill!) And, because I have the Fizz, I could see how much carbonation was actually going into my bottle. So, I filled it up to the third level, maybe just a little too much fizz, because when I put the flavormix in the bottle, it overflowed. Does this seem a reasonable reason for the overfill? Also, I was not exactly sure how to determine the amount of mix. There are some lines down low on the bottle cap, and then there are indentations. Since I was using a cola flavor, the inside of the cap was covered with syrup and made it difficult to determine where I should be measuring. Can you confirm how to determine the correct measurement? All in all, I am still very excited and pretty thrilled with my results. I did get too much carbonation, and possibly not enough flavor, but 1/4 of the water overflowed. I would love to see if I can hear from some of you about your reactions to my experience. I’m all ears and eager to learn all I can about my new machine. I am sooooo tired of lugging six packs of soda home from the store. It’s very inconvenient, since I live alone in a condo, which requires a short distance to my unit from the parking lot. Plus, I’ve been experiencing some health problems that make dealing with all those bottles very tiresome. I am also really happy about the improved content of the mixes, as they relate to what I have been buying in the store, and can’t wait to try the interesting variety of flavors available, as well as putting together some of my own. My neighbor saw this on the Today Show today and met me in the parking lot, excited about the new soda machine she was planning to buy. You should have seen her face when I pulled my new purchase out of the car . . . ;)
    Thanks for a great site. You should be very proud of your blog. You have done an excellent job of putting this information together for us.

    ps. Am I the only one to comment on the Fizz, or have I just not gotten back to the right page this time?

    • Barb
      August 15, 2011 | 10:56 PM

      Oh, yeah . . . love that great big fizz I get every time I open my bottle of soda. What a great cap! No store-bought soda gives you that sound, even the first time you open it up.

    • Luke
      August 15, 2011 | 11:49 PM

      Hi Barb…Congratulations on your new Sodastream Fizz. Yes, you are the first to comment on my Sodastream Fizz page. I haven’t had this page out there too long. It took me a while to track down and test the unit and I refused to release a review on it until I could give it a good test. I think you will be pleased with this unit but it will take a little patience, trial and error to master making the perfect Sparkling Water & Soda every time. You’ll get there though. I must admit, I am a little jealous. I would love to replace my office Fountain Jet with the Fizz but the darn thing just will not die…LOL

      I read through your comments several times and here are some of my thoughts:

      1. The carbonating button/lever does require a firm press to release the Co2 from the carbonator into the water. It shouldn’t be difficult to push but it does require a firm press.

      2. Press down in short bursts for best carbonation. This helps improve carbonation by agitating the water during carbonation and gives you better control over the carbonation process. Another tip is to use very cold water. For some reason, very cold water seems to carbonate better (turns out more fizzy) than warm water. We clean, fill and store our bottles in the refrigerator so they are always cold and ready for carbonating.

      3. Make sure you are only filling your carbonating bottle to the water line. If you overfill it, it is more likely that water will fizz out during the carbonation process and/or when you release the pressure. If you fill only to the line and don’t over carbonate, this shouldn’t happen.

      4. It does sound like you may have over carbonated the water a bit but you’ll get the hang of it after a while. Once you’ve used your Sodastream Fizz a few times, you will not need to watch the display. A good rule of thumb is to keep pressing the carbonating button/lever in short bursts until you hear the “buzz” three times. It’s ok to give it a 4th or perhaps even a 5th buzz for highly carbonated water but anything more is likely to cause overflow. Each machine is different though. I can over carbonate more with my Sodastream Fountain Jet than I can with my Sodastream Penguin. I suspect this is related to the design of the unit more than anything else.

      5. When measuring out the syrup, I would recommend filling the sodamix cap to the top for these 1 Liter Bottles. This is a good starting point but you’ll find yourself adding more or less depending on the flavor you are using and your personal taste. One of the great things about the Sodastream is that you have complete control over both the carbonation and the amount of syrup you use. It will take a little experimentation but once you get the hang of it, you’ll make the perfect soda (for you) every time. (For those reading this with the smaller glass bottles, start with the top line inside the cap).

      6. When pouring the Sodamix into the bottle (after carbonation), I find it is best to tilt the carbonating bottle and pour the sodamix in like you would pour a beer into a pilsner glass. Check out the video review on my Fountain Jet Page for a visual on this. Tiffany did a good job of pouring the sodamix into the bottle. Keep in mind; you are adding something to highly carbonated water, which will cause it to fizz. Pour the sodamix in slowly to prevent the carbonated water from fizzing out the top of the bottle. Again, check out Tiffany’s video on the Fountain Jet page…she does a great job of demonstrating how this should be done.

      Thanks again for leaving your comments and questions. Please feel free to come back once you’ve used your Sodastream Fizz for a while and give us a full review of your impressions of the unit. Please don’t hesitate to leave more questions or use my Contact Me page to send me a message privately should you have any further questions. I wish you the best of luck in your Sodastream Fizz Adventure. – Take good care, Luke

  23. Jeff
    February 5, 2012 | 12:52 AM

    Hi Luke-
    Thanks so much for your work researching how the Fizz Chip works and explaining it so thoroughly.

    From “The Things That Make You Go Hmmmm” Dept, I was quite surprised when a 2nd Fizz Chip arrived at my home today! Now I have a spare replacement! Can I/Should I take the battery out of this extra Fizz Chip to make sure the battery doesn’t discharge and then leak allover?

    Thanks again for all of your research, knowledge and sharing it with us!

    – Jeff