Sodastream Penguin Review

Sodastream PenguinObviously you’re here because the Sodastream Penguin has somehow landed on your radar and you’re trying to determine if it is worthy of your attention or potential investment.  Thank goodness you’ve found my Sodastream Penguin Review.

We are going to take a detailed look at the Sodastream Penguin Home Soda Maker along with the pros and cons of the unit itself.  Before we move on, I just want to make sure you’re in the right place.  Each Sodastream Home Soda Maker has the same basic function, general features and similar benefits.  We aren’t going to cover the general stuff here.  If that’s what you’re looking for, you might want to head over to my Sodastream Review page.

If you’re still reading, I’m going to assume you are interested specifically in the Sodastream Penguin.  We are going to kick off this Sodastream Penguin Review with a quick Sodastream Commercial that features the Sodastream Penguin.  This will give you a general idea of how the Sodastream Penguin works.  Next, we’ll look at the Pros and Cons followed by a Video Review, My Personal Review after using the Sodastream Penguin for close to two years and what other Sodastream Penguin users think.  Keep an eye out for the tips I’ve scattered across the page.  Finally, I’ll show you where you can buy the Sodastream Penguin.

United States The Sodastream Penguin is now sold exclusively at Williams-Sonoma

United KingdomAttention UK Visitors: CLICK HERE to get FREE SHIPPING on the Sodastream Penguin

Luke’s Sodastream Penguin Review Ratings:

Sodastream Penguin

Editor's Rating
Style / Design
Ease of Use
Construction Quality
Durability
Perceived Value
Average Rating

The Penguin Starter Kit Includes:

  • Sodastream Penguin Home Soda Maker Unit
  • 2 Dishwasher Safe 650 ML (20oz) Glass Carafes with Fizz Preserving Stoppers
  • 1 Refillable 60 Liter Co2 Cartridge (Carbonator)

Pros:

  • Easy & Fun to Use
  • No Cleanup
  • Turns tap water into sparkling water/soda in less than 30 seconds
  • No more lugging bulky bottles or cans
  • No more bottles or cans to recycle or throw away
  • No Batteries or Electricity required
  • Earth Friendly Manufacturing Process does not use any materials that produce BPA, Phthalates or PCBs
  • Beautiful and Stylish design compliments any decor
  • Only Model with Solid Plastic & Metal Construction
  • Glass carafes are placed into the flask rather than screwing to the unit as required by other Sodastream models
  • Elegant cut-glass carafes are great for serving and entertaining guests
  • Glass Carafes are dishwasher safe
  • Glass Carafes will last forever with proper care
  • Tight Hermetic Seal keeps soda fresher than store bought soda
  • Sodastream Penguin Kit comes with an extra Carbonator (CO2 Cartridge) which saves you the expense of purchasing a spare ($29.99 value)

Cons:

  • 18″ Height May Not Fit Under All Kitchen Cabinets (note: my Sodastream Penguin measures 17.5″ high from counter top to highest point but Sodastream references 18″ on their site so this is the measurement we’ll use.  Clearance height when open is a full 21.5″)
  • 620ml (20oz) Glass Carafe is smaller than the 1 Liter Plastic Bottles of other models
  • Price Tag may scare off some consumers
  • Sodastream Sodamix flavors may not appeal to everyone

 

United States The Sodastream Penguin is now sold exclusively at Williams-Sonoma

United KingdomAttention UK Visitors: CLICK HERE to get FREE SHIPPING on the Sodastream Penguin


Here is a quick video review of the Sodastream Penguin you will find helpful:

United States The Sodastream Penguin is now sold exclusively at Williams-Sonoma

United KingdomAttention UK Visitors: CLICK HERE to get FREE SHIPPING on the Sodastream Penguin


Sodastream Penguin Tip: The plastic caps/stoppers used with the glass carafes are wonderful.  However, they are susceptible to wear and tear if you are not careful.  I have found that by holding the bottle in one hand with your finger firmly pressing the black lip of the cap tightly against the bottle while tightening/removing the cap with your other hand prevents this from happening.  Also, be careful not to over tighten the cap or you risk damaging it.

 

Why I love the Sodastream Penguin:

With over two years of continuous use and abuse, my Sodastream Penguin is still my favorite model in the Sodastream lineup.  This is mainly due to:

  • Extremely Easy to Use & Maintain
  • Fast & Easy Carbonator Replacement (Open cover, remove old carbonator, screw in new carbonator and close the cover – it’s that easy)
  • Stylish Design
  • Beautiful Contoured Dishwasher Safe Glass Carafes that Complement ANY Table Setting
  • Sturdy Stainless Steel & Plastic Construction
  • Glass Carafes are placed INTO the unit rather than screwed on
  • Consistent and Flawless Performance

Every Sodastream Penguin owner I have talked to just loves their little Penguin and I have to agree with them.  This is just an excellent unit and far more attractive than some of the other models.  There really isn’t much I can find fault with in this unit but there are a few of things that could be improved.

  • The motion of closing the curved horn (machine head) and locking it into the stainless flask takes a bit of getting used to.  Sodastream could improve the unit by making the motion a touch more fluid.  After a few uses, however, this motion becomes second nature and rarely enters your mind.
  • I am one that likes to sanitize everything that I can in the dishwasher using a high-heat sanitizing cycle.  The glass carafes do just fine but the sanitizing cycle of our dishwasher wears out caps.  We no longer have any of the original caps but we did have some that lasted well over a year.  Other caps wore out in about 6 – 8 months.  Once the plastic caps have been compromised, the lip will split if over tightened.  This could be avoided if we hand-washed our caps but I would rather replace the caps as they wear out than hand-wash them.  You can usually find the Sodastream Glass Carafe Closure in packs of two for around $5.00.
  • The glass carafes sometimes drip down the side of the bottle when pouring.  Unfortunately, I don’t see a way Sodastream could improve this without compromising the integrity of the hermetic seal.  If forced to choose between fresh fizzy beverages and an easy pour spout, I’ll pick freshness every time.
  • For the price of the Sodastream Penguin Starter Kit, I would like to see more included in the starter kit.  Something as simple as one extra cut glass carafe would be all I need to raise my “Perceived Value” rating from a 4.5 to 5 stars.
  • For some reason, Sodastream has changed their sales strategy for the Sodastream Penguin so that it is now available exclusively at Williams-Sonoma.  We are lucky enough to have a Williams-Sonoma here but not everyone does.  I expect this will discourage some folks from purchasing the Penguin.  You can locate the store closest to you with this Williams-Sonoma Store List.

If you plan to take your Sodastream with you to the office, in the RV or on family vacations, the Sodastream Penguin may not be your best choice.  This is the largest and heaviest model in the Sodastream line of soda makers.  If you want a model that is easy to transport, you might want to take a look at the Sodastream Fountain JetSodastream Genesis or Sodastream Pure. These models are a bit easier to transport, which is why I chose the Sodastream Fountain Jet for use in the office and family vacations.

Overall, I give the Sodastream Penguin high marks and a strong recommendation.  We have used our Sodastream Penguin very heavily, have not always been gentle and it shows no signs of wear.  I expect the Sodastream Penguin will last for years to come.  The Sodastream Penguin performs exceptionally well so you can make your sparkling water or soda with confidence knowing it will turn out perfectly every time.  The design of the unit lends itself to quick efficient use allowing you to make delicious sparkling water and soda very quickly.  It is certainly much easier than lugging heavy cans and bottles from the store that consume tons of storage space.  Add in long term cost savings and a positive environmental impact and the Sodastream Penguin wiggles its way into your life quickly securing itself a permanent place in your home.

Sodastream Penguin Tip:  Always keep your Sodastream Penguin dry on the inside.  Over carbonating beverages and quickly pressing the release button can cause carbonated water to fizz or splash out of the cut glass carafes.  When this happens, simply take a paper towel and wipe out the horn and flask of the Sodastream Penguin to keep it clean and dry.  By following this simple tip, your Sodastream Penguin will always be clean and ready for use.

 

Here is what other Sodastream Penguin users are saying:

Sodastream PenguinPerfect Sodamaker by S: “I own both the low end version and the Penguin.  The Penguin wins hands down.” – Review condensed to save space – Read Full Review with additional Pros & Cons Here

Sodastream PenguinEasy and Fun by Mary Anne: “I love the product.  It is easy to use and my family can’t get enough.  My only complaint is that the bottles are very small.  Two of them are not enough for my family…Everyone loves the taste.  And I like having the ability to control how carbonated I want the water to be. –  Review condensed to save space – Read Mary Anne’s Full Review

Sodastream PenguinWonderful Product by Charlotte W: The price is a bit high but it’s a wonderful product in every way.  I fist saw its “sister” product at a friend’s house and thought the sparkling water was very refreshing and wanted one for myself.  I was delighted when I discovered the Penguin and its glass carafe.  I’ve always loved sparkling water but gave up buying it because it always went flat before I could finish it but now, I can make a carafe whenever I want it.  The Penguin is a bit large but it’s sleek whimsical design is great to look at and easy to use.  A great feature of the Sodastream Flavorings is that they have no corn syrup and you CAN taste the difference.  The initial cost of the Penguin is a bit high but it’s a wonderful product. – Review paraphrased – Read Charlotte’s Full Review

Sodastream PenguinNeat product if you can get the canisters locally by Mediahound: “This is a neat product and it works well.  I like that it uses glass bottles instead of plastic ones like on lower end models.  The C02 seems to last quite a long time…The fizzy water out of this is just as good to me as a Pellegrino®…If you have to mail-order the canisters from Sodastream, don’t bother.” – Review condensed to save space – Read Mediahound’s Full Review

Sodastream Penguin Tip: You can check to see where Co2 Refills can be found in your local by clicking Where to Buy.

Sodastream PenguinGreat easy to make seltzer by G. G. T: “I’ve had mine a couple months now and I love it.  No more buying bottles of seltzer that run out of fizz 2/3 of the way…and no plastic bottles to worry about…I get 50 bottles from each Co2 cartridge.  If you screw the top down tight, they retain their fizz but it isn’t necessary to make ahead of time since it is so quick and easy to do…The pro’s vastly outweigh the con’s”  – Read GGT’s Full Review with additional Pros & Cons and a recipe

Sodastream PenguinFantastic Gadget Exceeds Expectations by C. Vincent: “What a wonderful addition this is to my kitchen.  It is extremely easy to set up and use and produces wonderful sparkling water…My husband that does not like store bought fizzy water loved this…The cap on the glass bottle has to be secured properly, but with a little practice, this is accomplished easily and really seals in the fizz…All in all a wonderful product.  I love the glass bottles…It is much better than store bought fizzy water and much healthier than high fructose corn syrup sodas…Highly recommend all the way around!  This is a fantastic product that I think will really catch on with many carbonated beverage lovers…Did I mention, this is great for the environment too.”- Read C. Vincent’s Full Review with additional tips

 

Sodastream Penguin Value Kits:

There used to be some great value kit options available for the Penguin but Sodastream recently made the decision to discontinue selling the Sodastream Penguin on their site.  They have eliminated the value kits as an option and the Sodastream Penguin is now sold exclusively at Williams-Sonoma.

United States The Sodastream Penguin is now sold exclusively at Williams-Sonoma

United KingdomAttention UK Visitors: CLICK HERE to get FREE SHIPPING on the Sodastream Penguin

If you have not already done so, please take some time to read through my Sodastream Review page for a more in depth review of the Sodastream Home Soda Maker product as a whole.  If you still have questions after reviewing this page or have Sodastream Penguin specific questions not answered above, please feel free to comment below or Contact Me privately.  I will do my best to answer your questions and/or point you in the right direction.  I wish you the best of luck in your new Sodastream Penguin Adventure.

Leave your own Sodastream Penguin Review: If you own a Sodastream Penguin, please take a few moments to leave your own Sodastream Penguin Review Below.  Leaving your own review is easy and only takes a few moments. Just scroll down to the very bottom of this page below the comment form, click on the ratings to rate your Sodastream Penguin, enter some comments to tell us about your Sodastream Penguin experience and hit submit.  The Sodastream Penguin Reviews submitted by visitors of MySodastreamReview.com will help others determine if a Sodastream Penguin is right for them.

DMCA.com
 
Sodastream Penguin Review4.85Luke2012-08-11 13:01:34Obviously you’re here because the Sodastream Penguin has somehow landed on your radar and you’re trying to determine if it is worthy of your attention…
Average Ratings (from 4 ratings)
Style / Design
Ease of Use
Construction Quality
Durability
Perceived Value
Average Rating
52 Responses to Sodastream Penguin Review
  1. Chuck Johnston
    August 31, 2012 | 2:20 PM

    I purchased a Penquin a few years ago for my wife. She used lots of seltzer water, and the Penquin seemed to be a money and environmental saver. She has used and enjoyed her Penquin a lot, and we’ve not had any problems with it. Recently, though, there seems to have been a design change on the canisters. The release valve on the top of the canister used to have a flat disk that the plastic piece inside the Penquin would contact to release the CO2. The canisters now do not have the disk. The contact area is a very small area that looks like it will eventually render the plastic contact in the Penquin useless. Also, the first canister we used like this did not allow us to get all of the CO2 out of the canister. Evidently, the plastic, being softer than the smaller(almost pointed)brass part of the canister, would not push the valve open enough to release the CO2. The very kind folks at the local Williams-Sonoma even opened several new canisters to see if we had gotten a defective canister, but none of them had the flat disk that used to be on the release valve. The Williams-Sonoma folks said they would check with Sodastream to see if there was ,indeed, a design change and if there was a retrofit to correct what I think is a problem. We have not heard from them ,yet. Thank you for any advice or help.

    • Luke
      August 31, 2012 | 5:43 PM

      Chuck, Thank you for visiting the site and taking the time to leave your review on the Sodastream Penguin. I have seen the changes in the valves you are referring to. They first started to appear in my market in early March of this year.

      There are actually three different fittings on the Sodastream Carbonators currently in circulation. In my opinion, the flat fitting is the easiest and most efficient. When I questioned Sodastream on this change, their response was that they considered the fittings to be “universal” and all fittings work with all Sodastream models. They did, however, admit that some fittings were easier to use than others. The smaller the valve on the fitting, the harder one must push/press/pull the carbonating button/lever. I have not seen a flat fitting in my market for quite some time but I have finally learned to live with the newer fittings. I would prefer the flat fitting if I had a choice but this no longer seems to be an option.

      You can still get all the CO2 out of a carbonator (canister as you say) but it takes a bit of effort. It seems these fittings don’t allow the CO2 to dispense with enough pressure to fully empty when there is pressure within the carbonating chamber. The good news, based on my experience, is that this only occurs with the last bottle I carbonate.

      On this last bottle, you’ll need to add as much CO2 as you can. When you’ve added as much as you can, press the release valve to release the pressure in the carbonating chamber and start adding more CO2. You will have to repeat this process until the carbonator is depleted. You’ll notice the sound of the CO2 becomes weaker and weaker as you repeat the process until the carbonator is depleted. Most of the time, this last bottle ends up just fine without having to change out the carbonator and continue the carbonation process but I have had a few that didn’t have quite enough to carbonate the last bottle. When this happens, I just switch to my spare carbonator and finish the carbonating process.

      I realize this is a bit of a pain and again, I wish Sodastream had not made this change, but this process will at least let you feel as if you are making the most of each carbonator (and the CO2) you purchase. If you would like to voice your opinions directly to Sodastream (and/or get their take on the new fittings), you can call them directly at 1-800-762-2258. Thanks again for your review and questions. – Take good care, Luke

  2. Virginia
    April 2, 2012 | 3:28 PM

    Thanks so much for all of your reviews. From the commercials I couldn’t tell how hard it would be for me to use the other models that twist the soda bottle on. I have arthritis and almost bought one of the other models. But thanks to you, I know now that I need to buy the Penguin (or request it for Mother’s Day! Ha, ha.)

    • Luke
      April 2, 2012 | 5:05 PM

      Hi Virginia, Thanks for taking the time to visit my site and leaving your comments about the Sodastream Penguin. Depending on how bad the arthritis in your hands is, you may also be able to use the Pure if the model appeals to you. You still have to twist on the bottle but it isn’t as bad as say using the Fountain Jet. The lever on the Pure is also easy to pull forward. I had no problems with the Pure and another visitor wrote in to say she could use it easily in spite of her arthritis as well. The Penguin or the Crystal should also be easy for you to use.

      Good luck on swinging one of the Sodastream models for Mother’s day. If you get one, make sure to come back and leave your own Sodastream Review on the page for your model. Thanks again for visiting the site and for your kind words. – Take good care, Luke

  3. Rebecca
    March 27, 2012 | 8:23 PM

    I, too, loved my Penguin but it broke down far sooner than it should have–especially considering the price–and left me with several expensive and now useless gas canisters. A few weeks ago I purchased a Fizz, I think it was–at least it was one of those models with plastic bottles that screw in. It was a disaster! I hated fooling with the bottles, and then the carbonator didn’t work at all, so I returned it. So I am in the awkward position of loving the water I got from the Penguin, but wondering if I should waste more money on defective products. Thanks for this review page b/c I would like to get another one, but am wary after my experience with two
    Lemons in a row, and I don’t mean soda flavors.

    • Rebecca
      March 27, 2012 | 8:27 PM

      P.S. I am not the same Rebecca as the previous comment, and I did try to rate construction and durability, but I consider these so poor that it registered as not rated at all.

      • Luke
        March 27, 2012 | 9:51 PM

        Rebecca,

        Thank you for visiting my site and leaving your Sodastream Penguin comments & review. I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience. Yours is the first story I have heard of a Penguin going bad. If you don’t mind, please use my Contact Me page to send me a message about what went wrong. I track all reports of problems with my visitors so I can look for common problems and report them here on this site.

        Unless your Penguin is over two years old, I would recommend you contact Sodastream immediately and have it replaced. Sodastream is very good about standing behind their products and if yours broke within the warranty, they should be happy to replace it. It should be as simple as calling them at 1-800-763-2258, explaining the problem and they will ship you a new one free of charge. The Sodastream Penguin is still my favorite model and although mine is close to being out of warranty, it shows absolutely no signs of wear. I suspect you must have gotten a damaged unit.

        The Fizz is not a model I would recommend you try to stick with. If you look at my updates on the Fizz page, you’ll see there have been a lot of problems. If at all possible, I suggest you call Sodastream and have them replace your broken Penguin. If you are used to the Penguin, I doubt you will be as happy with any other model with the possible exception of the Sodastream Crystal, which also uses the glass bottles. But why buy another unit when you can simply replace yours under the warranty.

        Please keep me posted on what happens. I wish you the best of luck. – Take good care, Luke

  4. Rebecca
    March 18, 2012 | 6:40 PM

    Thank you for such a great site! I had been somewhat frustrated when I was trying to compare the different models and I have changed the model that I was planning to purchase from the comments and reviews!

    My husband and I are thinking about purchasing the Penguin model and were wondering if the glass carafes fit in an average car beverage holder. It’s not a deal breaker if they are not, but are mostly curious. Thanks!

    • Luke
      March 18, 2012 | 8:22 PM

      Rebecca, Thanks for visiting the site and taking the time to leave your question about the Penguin. You’re the first to ask if the glass carafes would fit the cup holder of a car so I had to test it out. The glass carafes are tapered a bit and the bottom is narrower than the middle of the bottle. Depending on the design of the cup holders in your car, it may or may not work. Standard cup holder sizes will not allow the bottle to sit fully in the bottom of the cup holder to provide proper support. The larger and/or adjustable cup holders may work though. For example, the cup holders in my truck (Dodge Ram 1500) are larger and adjustable to a degree. I was able to set the glass carafe in the holder and slide the adjustable piece so the glass carafes were properly supported. My neighbor’s van also has some cup holders large/deep enough to accommodate the glass carafe safely but smaller standard size cup holders in her van would not. Cars with the smaller standard size holders don’t seem to be ideal for safely transporting a glass carafe in the cup holder. The tapered shape and cut glass ridges let the carafe rest partially in the cup holder but I’m not sure I would feel comfortable driving without having a hand on the carafe. Any sudden starts or stops would likely send the bottle tumbling through your vehicle to become a safety hazard. I wouldn’t count on the cup holders working unless you have larger and/or adjustable cup holders like I have in my truck. Thanks again for your question. If you do get a Sodastream, please come back and share your thoughts on your model by leaving your own review. – Take good care, Luke

  5. Pat
    March 5, 2012 | 11:22 PM

    I live in Alaska in a village and really need to order a sodastream. Who will ship considering, everything must be flown in from the lower 48. Someone told me there is an issue with the Co2 cartridges. I have terrible leg cramps and the cold up here makes them worse at my age 55+. The store here does not carry tonic water, which has quinne in it. So someone suggested sodastream. Please respond via e-mail privately.

    • Luke
      March 6, 2012 | 7:32 AM

      Pat, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and leaving your question. I will reply here for others that visit the site and follow up with you via email as you requested.

      Folks that live in Alaska will likely be better off purchasing locally or ordering directly from one of the merchants that is physically in Alaska and having them ship to your door. You can use Sodastream’s Where To Buy tool to find the closest retailer to you. There are currently 7 retail locations in Alaska where you can purchase a Sodastream.

      Thanks again for visiting the site. – Luke

  6. Sue
    February 4, 2012 | 4:44 PM

    Hi Luke!
    Great site! I have owned a Penquin for a couple of years and love it. I am considering buying a Fizz for use at the office; that’s how I found your site. Today, while inspecting my Penquin, I found a light black film on the white plastic carbonator tip and the plastic assembly that attaches it to the top of the hood. I wiped down what I can reach, but it was hard to get off and I could not reach alot of it. Any suggestions on how to clean this? It’s kind of gross! Thanks!

    • Luke
      February 5, 2012 | 1:46 PM

      Hi Sue! Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your comment/question about the Sodastream Penguin. Before you go out and buy that Sodastream Fizz for your office, make sure you give my Sodastream Fizz page a good read. Pay particular attention to my updates and conversations with others. The Fizz could be a good choice as long as you are making an educated decision but I’m beginning to question the integrity of this model.

      As for your slimy Sodastream Penguin, I would recommend using a bottle brush to get up in the horn for cleaning. Going forward, just make sure you keep the inside of your flask and horn dry. If you over carbonate your drinks and then release the pressure quickly, some of the sparkling water can fizz out of the bottle up into the horn and down into the flask. If the water sits inside the unit, bacteria and slime can grow. Just make sure to dry out your Sodastream Penguin when this happens and you will be fine. I just wipe out the inside of my Sodastream Penguin when this happens and I’ve never had a problem.

      Thanks again for your comments and question. – Take good care, Luke

  7. Brian
    January 14, 2012 | 1:39 AM

    I see that both the Glass Carafes and the Caps for the Penguin are said to be “Dishwasher Safe”.

    That makes sense for the Glass Carafe itself. But are Penguin owners really cleaning the caps in the dishwasher? Or is it safer/wiser to just rinse them after use?

    • Luke
      January 14, 2012 | 9:26 AM

      Brian, Thank you for visiting and leaving your question about the Sodastream Penguin. We wash our caps in the sanitizing cycle of the dishwasher daily. This can be rather hard on the caps causing them to wear out. We have some original caps left that are well over a year old while others wore out after 6 to 8 months. It may be wiser to hand wash them to prolong the life of the cap but we prefer to sanitize the caps and replace them as needed. Extra caps can be picked up for around $5 for a pack of two. We just keep an extra box on hand to replace them when necessary. It really comes down to personal preference and what is important to you. You could certainly prolong the life of your caps by hand washing. Thanks again for your question. – Luke

  8. Jodi M.
    November 8, 2011 | 8:45 PM

    I found the Sodastream Penguin by visiting your site back in April and decided to go ahead and get one. I’m not sure if you’ll remember me, Luke, but I sent you an e-mail with tons of questions you were kind enough to answer. Anyway, we use the Penguin several times a day and the whole family just loves it. Everyone gets to make whatever soda, sparkling tea or any other drink they want whenever they want and I’m not stuck dragging home cases of soda and bottles of fizzy water any longer. The Penguin looks great sitting on my kitchen counter and it is so easy to use even my 7 year old can make her own drinks. It is constructed very well and we haven’t had a single problem with it. When people visit us, they all have to try our Penguin and we have several friends that have gotten one after using ours. I am very happy we got the Penguin and I would recommend it to anyone considering a Sodastream…It’s just great.

    Luke, I also wanted to personally thank you for all your help when I was first looking and for giving us such a great site as a resource. I still visit every week to see what is going on. I love that you share news stories about Sodastream and your tips have been very helpful. I also picked up the Homemade Soda Recipes book you reviewed and it’s awesome. We use a lot of the recipes which just saves us even more money. All the recipes are easy to make and we like all the ones we have tried so far. Thanks again for everything…you rock!

    • Luke
      November 9, 2011 | 9:52 AM

      Hi Jodi, Thanks for taking the time to come back to the site and leave your own review of the Sodastream Penguin. Of course I remember you. I am glad I was able to help answer your questions and thrilled that you are happy with your Sodastream Penguin. I’m glad you are enjoying the Homemade Soda Recipes book as well. My family has had a lot of fun making different recipes in the book.

      By the way, congratulations…You are the first person to use the new User Reviews system I installed on the site yesterday. Your timing for coming back and leaving a review couldn’t have been better. I am still configuring the review tool and haven’t even made a formal announcement about it yet. I am hoping these types of user submitted reviews will offer more value to visitors of the site and make it easier for people to determine if Sodastream is right for them and if so, which model to pick.

      Thanks again for taking the time to leave your review – Take good care, Luke

  9. Theo
    July 20, 2011 | 1:53 PM

    Right on! I own the Sodastream Penguin too and absolutely love it. I just happened across your site trying to find out about the new all-natural flavors you talk about on your sodamix page. I figured I should leave comments for your other readers and say I highly recommend the penguin. It is an awesome machine that I now can’t live without. I get perfect fizzy water and soft drinks every single time. The thing is just amazing and your review is right on target! I have used some of the other models but none compare to the penguin. The sodastream penguin rocks!

    • Luke
      July 20, 2011 | 2:56 PM

      Theo, Thanks for your enthusiastic comments. I am glad to hear you love the sodastream penguin too! – Take care, Luke

  10. Bertha B.
    July 15, 2011 | 1:21 PM

    I really appreciate your site. Finding it ended my 4 day long hunt for good information on the Sodastream Penguin. God Bless you man! Have a great day.

  11. Lauren
    July 15, 2011 | 10:34 AM

    WONDERFUL REVIEW of the sodastream penguin! Thanks for making this available!!!

  12. Donna
    July 15, 2011 | 3:41 AM

    Thank you for your thoughtful review of the sodastream penguin!

  13. Sergio
    July 5, 2011 | 8:51 AM

    I love your blog man! I just found out about sodastream a few weeks ago and started looking into it. Your blog has been very helpful. So much good information. The sodastream penguin looks like the best model to me. This is the one I’m getting. Thanks for all the help!

    • Luke
      July 5, 2011 | 12:41 PM

      Sergio, Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. Please come back once you’ve use the sodastream penguin for a while and share your thoughts. Until then, take good care. – Luke

  14. Carolyn
    June 17, 2011 | 6:23 PM

    Luke, Remember me? I’m the one that bugged the $hi! out of you beginning of May. You asked me to come back after I used my Sodastream Penguin a while and tell you what I think. I had HIGH expectations for the S.P. and it has not let me down. It’s a WONDERFUL machine. We have been using it non-stop for the last month and can’t imagine life without it. I’m not too keen on some of the flavors but most are good. We’re huge Barq’s fans but Sodastream’s tastes more like A&W. Their Mountain Dew flavor tastes more like Mello Yello. The rest are REALLY good and pink grapefruit is A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!! The S.P. just works; PERFECTLY EVERY TIME!!! Just had to replace the first Co2 tank last night; EASY! EVERYTHING about the S.P. is EASY. On a 1-10 scale, I give the Sodastream Penguin a 12 and the flavors a 8. I HIGHLY recommend this to everyone!

    • Luke
      June 17, 2011 | 8:01 PM

      Hi Carolyn, Of course I remember you. I am glad to hear that you are liking your Sodastream Penguin. I would agree that the Fountain Mist tastes more like Mello Yello but I wouldn’t compare the Root Beer to A&W. To me, it seems like a cross between Barq’s and Mug. This is a great example of why I don’t review each of the Sodastream Flavors. Reviewing the flavor is just too subjective. Thank you for taking the time to come back and leave your impressions of the Sodastream Penguin. Take good care, Luke

  15. Casey
    June 1, 2011 | 11:04 PM

    I found your site a while back when I was thinking about giving a Sodastream Penguin to my Mom for Mother’s Day. It was a bit more than I wanted to spend but I’m happy I did. I sent her to your site to read up on it and learn the tips you share. The Sodamix page was really helpful to her. She isn’t tech savvy and asked me to post a thank you for her to show her appreciation. Mom raves about her Sodastream Penguin and after using it, I’m getting one too. Thought you might want to know your site is appreciated :-)

    • Luke
      June 2, 2011 | 7:40 PM

      Casey, I am happy to hear you and your Mom found my site helpful. Tell her I said thanks for the kind words. You’ll have to come back after you have used your Sodastream Penguin for a while to leave another comment with your impressions of how it performs. – Take good care, Luke

  16. Isabel
    May 29, 2011 | 12:43 PM

    I was on the fence about Sodastream until I found your blog. You don’t hold anything back…the good, the bad and the ugly, it’s all here. Thanks for taking that approach in your reviews. Your honesty and detailed information gave me what I need to make a decision. The information on your Sodamix page answers a lot of questions the other sites don’t bother to mention. It gives me what I need to make Sodastream work for me but I understand why it won’t for everyone. I decided to get the Sodastream Penguin and know I’ll be thrilled with it. Thanks for keeping it real and making sure your visitors are fully educated. If they don’t find what they need here, they didn’t pay attention! – Thanks again, Isabel

    • Luke
      May 29, 2011 | 2:58 PM

      Thanks for the kind words Isabel. I am glad you found what you were looking for. Please feel free to come back and leave additional comments with your impression of the Sodastream Penguin once you’ve had time to evaluate it. – Take good care, Luke

  17. Libby
    May 17, 2011 | 9:15 PM

    Had to come back and say thanks. I got everything I needed to know right here, ordered a Sodastream Penguin and love it. I ordered the value kit and had it two days later. My sister ordered the same kit but got hers the next day. It’s so easy to use and the pop tastes REALLY good and I like the way it looks in my kitchen. I also got the sparkling natural cola, ginger ale and root beer. They’re all better than the expensive store bought stuff. The money I am saving will pay for the penguin in no time.

    • Luke
      May 18, 2011 | 2:42 PM

      Thanks for the comments Libby. I appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience. I am happy to hear you like the Sparkling Naturals. I have not had the chance to try them yet. Thanks again for the comments, they are greatly appreciated. – All the best, Luke

  18. B. J.
    May 12, 2011 | 10:47 AM

    Okay, this may make me sound like a stalker but I read your about me page and I think we went to High School together. Luke…it’s me, BJ! I was thinking about getting a penguin…searching for info and pow…here you are. I always said you should be a writer and you laughed at me. Guess what, I was right…who’s laughing now? LOL! Seriously though, what a great site. It gave me what I was looking for and I love your layout and design. If it’s really you, send me an email. I included my email when I left this comment. I would love to reconnect with you. – BJ

    • Luke
      May 12, 2011 | 12:30 PM

      Hi BJ, You may be right. I never expected anyone I knew to find me through my website. I guess it is true what they say; it really is a small world. I sent you a message using the e-mail you provided. I am looking forward to catching up with you.

  19. Samantha
    May 6, 2011 | 4:30 AM

    I found your site several weeks ago and decided to get a Sodastream Penguin. You ask in your note above for people that own one to leave their own review so I came back to leave mine.

    My hubby and I have three kids (3, 5 & 7) and my mother-in-law lives with us. We decided to get the value kit because it has all the extra carafes and Co2. We have 6 people in this house that are using it so it just made sense. BTW…didn’t know about value kits until I saw your site :-)

    You recommend units with plastic bottles for folks with young kids, but we decided to get the penguin anyway. I see why you say that but we haven’t had any problems. The kids are all able to use the sodastream penguin just fine with supervision and they love using it! We followed your recommendation to get the sodamix variety pack and you were right, we like some flavors we didn’t expect to. Who knew my kids would love the diet pink grapefruit?? Anyway, the penguin is awesome and I recommend it to anyone thinking about getting a sodastream. We have 6 people using it constantly and everyone loves it. The Co2 seems to last forever. We haven’t had to replace the first canister yet but it has to give out soon. You were right on in your review so I can’t really add much but to agree with most of what you said. The only things I disagree with is that the smaller bottle isn’t a con for families with kids. It gives me better portion control and I prefer it..I get why you say it’s a con but for me it’s not..we like the smaller bottles. I also kinda disagree with your recommendation get a model with plastic bottles if you have young kids. I understand why you say this but if you are a responsible parent and supervise your children, you should be fine. Then again, I wouldn’t let my kids use the sodastream unsupervised with plastic bottles either…that’s just me, the overprotective mom. Sorry, don’t mean to contradict but you asked your readers to leave their own review so I am. Aside from those two points, everything you say above is true. The Sodastream Penguin is everything it’s cracked up to be and more. We sure love ours.

    So there you have it, my own review of the Sodastream Penguin. Get it, you’ll love it! – Sam

    • Luke
      May 7, 2011 | 1:25 PM

      Sam,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to come back and leave your comments about the Sodastream Penguin. Don’t apologize for disagreeing with me. I want my readers to have different opinions and view points to consider. This is why I encourage people to leave comments about their own personal experiences. I too prefer the smaller carafe of the Penguin but others disagree with us so I point it out as a potential con for those that might be disappointed. I also appreciate your perspective on the glass carafes and small children. I agree that with the proper supervision MOST kids should be fine with the Penguin but I want parents to take the glass bottles into consideration. As parents, we know what our children are and aren’t capable of doing safely. I prefer to caution parents and let them make their own decision as you did. For you, the glass bottles seem to work well. They wouldn’t have worked so well with our youngest son. He didn’t have the coordination to safely handle the bottle when he was younger. Had we gotten a Sodastream then, we would have wanted one with plastic bottles as a precautionary measure. Again, I want to thank you for offering your honest perspective. I think it is important for people to have differing view points when making a decision and yours are certainly valuable. Thanks again for taking the time to leave them. All the best – Luke

  20. Rene'
    May 3, 2011 | 2:24 PM

    I was doing some last minute checking before buying a sodastream when I found your site on Yahoo. I didn’t know about the penguin until I found you. I like how you give so much detail on all the sodastream models. I think I will like the penguin best. Thanks for all the info!

  21. Micah
    May 3, 2011 | 2:24 PM

    Sweet website…love the design & style. I jumped on for a quick question and read most of your pages. Glad I did…learned a lot about sodastream. I’m gonna give the penguin a shot…thanks man

  22. Danny
    April 30, 2011 | 7:47 PM

    Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for Sodastream information. This is precisely what I was looking for. You’ve got a great site here. I looked at a lot of sodastream review sites but you are the only one that gave me the information I wanted…thanks!

  23. Demetrice Walman
    April 25, 2011 | 8:50 AM

    I don’t normally comment on blogs.. But nice post! I just bookmarked your site

  24. Shannon Brown
    April 21, 2011 | 10:15 PM

    With all the muddle floating about on the lace-work of the Internet, it is a refreshing change to find a site like yours. Keep up the good work.

  25. Brent Carlson
    April 14, 2011 | 6:17 AM

    I really enjoyed your site. Very informative, perfectly laid out and easy to follow. I’ve been considering the Sodastream Penguin for a long time but wasn’t able to find a good review and didn’t want to waste my money. You gave me all the information I was looking for and then some. The level of detail you provide on your Sodastream Review (the overview page) is just amazing. I have visited a lot of sites that claimed to provide a detailed review of the Sodastream line but you’re the only one that delivered. Most reviewers wouldn’t provide this level of honest and unbiased detail in their reviews. Thank you for breaking away from the pack and setting a new standard for review sites. You are truly amazing and I appreciate what you are doing here. Thank you!

  26. Manoni
    April 13, 2011 | 12:52 AM

    Thank you for providing this review. I really appreciate it and found all of the information incredibly helpful.

  27. BullieGirl
    April 12, 2011 | 11:32 PM

    Hey, this post is so cool!! I am recommending your site to my friends..they’re going to love it.

  28. whathappenedtolimewire.com
    April 12, 2011 | 8:04 PM

    Hi buddy, your blog’s design is easy and clean and i like it. Your blog articles are superb. Please keep them coming. Greets!!!

    • Luke
      April 12, 2011 | 10:47 PM

      Thanks for the kind words. More posts are coming soon.

  29. ReaderBuzz
    April 5, 2011 | 6:42 PM

    What a great web log. I spend hours on the net reading blogs, about tons of various subjects. I have to first of all give praise to whoever created your theme and second of all to you for writing what i can only describe as an fabulous article. I honestly believe there is a skill to writing articles that only very few posses and honestly you got it. The combining of demonstrative and upper-class content is by all odds super rare with the astronomic amount of blogs on the cyberspace.

    • Luke
      April 5, 2011 | 7:16 PM

      It is always a treat to read kind supportive comments from my readers. Thank you for taking the time to leave it. Top Blog Formula is the creator of the theme I am using. I am quite grateful for their skill and generosity. This is one of two free themes they provide. You can learn more about them by clicking on their link in the center footer below. Thanks again for your kind words.

  30. Dominic Brecht
    April 5, 2011 | 1:12 AM

    Hey! I just noticed another similar comment in one of your pages….How did you learn all of this? This is one cool post!

    • Luke
      April 5, 2011 | 7:07 PM

      Thanks for the kind words. If you are referring to my content, everything I know has come from personal use of the Sodastream products and extensive research. If you are referring to the structure and creation of this site, I have learned everything through research, trial and error. I would be happy to share my experience with you offline if you would like.

  31. Judi Bramsen
    March 22, 2011 | 6:20 AM

    Fantastic blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Thanks!

    • Luke
      March 22, 2011 | 10:35 AM

      Thanks Judi! I appreciate the kind words. i am more than happy to share what I have learned. If you like, we can discuss things offline or via e-mail privately. – Luke