Sodastream Review – The Sodastream Product Overview

Sodastream ReviewObviously, you’ve landed on this page because you are interested in the Sodastream Home Soda Maker and are trying to find an honest and comprehensive Sodastream Review.  Perhaps you have heard about the Sodastream Home Soda Maker and think it might be fore you.  Perhaps, you’ve heard some of the positive aspects of the Sodastream but have also heard some of the negative aspects as well and are trying to figure out the truth about Sodastream.  A Sodastream Home Soda Maker could be a wonderful addition to you life but the product is not without its flaws.  You’ll need to look at it carefully to determine if a Sodastream Home Soda Maker is worth your investment.  Have no fear, you’ve come to the right place but I have to warn you; this Sodastream Review is not for the faint of heart.  We are going to cover every detail of Sodastream’s claims…the good, the bad and the ugly.  If you’re not up to it or are just looking for an overview, I suggest you go back to the Home Page for a brief Sodastream Review or refer to a model specific Sodastream Review for Sodastream Penguin, Sodastream Crystal, Sodastream FizzSodastream Pure, Sodastream Genesis,  Sodastream Fountain Jet or Sodastream Source.

If you’re still with me, I assume you are a bit like me and want all the details before making any decisions or pulling out your wallet.  Now that we’ve established you are in the right place, let’s get this Sodastream Review started!

For those new to the Sodastream Home Soda Maker products, let’s start this Sodastream Review by watching a quick Sodastream commercial to gain a better understanding of the product.  If you’ve already seen some Sodastream commercials, you can skip this part.

“The revolutionary home soda maker that lets you turn water into fresh sparkling water and soda in seconds with no cleanup…Sodastream will completely change the way you and your family enjoy soda and sparkling water forever.”

Do the claims in the Sodastream commercial above sound too good to be true?  I thought so too!!  The fastest way to get me to walk away from a product is to throw infomercial like marketing campaigns my way.  When I saw this was the approach Sodastream was taking, I was immediately skeptical.  The Sodastrem sounds wonderful and being a huge fan of soda, and an open-minded person, I decided to continue with my Sodastream Review to see if the Sodastream Home Soda Maker lived up to Sodastream’s claims.

Sodastream boasts the following: Sodastream Review – Sodastream Reviews

  • Turn water into sparkling water and soda in seconds
  • “Keeps drinks fresh and fizzy longer than store-bought bottles”
  • No Cleanup
  • No Electricity
  • No toting bottles and cans from the store
  • No storage space required
  • No “empties” to recycle or throw away
  • Earth Friendly
  • Save Money
  • Quick & Easy to Use
  • Large variety of regular and diet flavors
  • Fewer Calories & Less Sodium than regular soda
  • No high-fructose corn syrup
  • No Aspartame (NutraSweet®)

Attention Visitors outside the U.S. & Canada:  Aspartame is used in other countries.  You may wish to check ingredients in your country prior to purchase.

The product sounds great.  It is certainly an intriguing concept and something most families could benefit from but the only way for me to know for sure was to find the product.  This is where my first challenge began.  Finding an objectively written Sodastream Review was difficult enough but I wasn’t prepared for difficulty in finding the product locally.  There didn’t seem to be a single store that had a unit I could touch and inspect.  Several stores had a display playing the same infomercial I had already found but this wasn’t what I needed.  I also had an extremely difficult time finding a selection of models.  It seems most retailers only carry one model along with accessories, Co2 Cartridges and Sodamix.  If I already had a Sodastream, there were plenty of places to get supplies but finding a unit became a task.  Retailers explained kits flew off the shelves and sold out quickly when new shipments arrived.  They had plenty of everything else but there was apparently a high demand for kits in my area.  Fortunately, I lucked into a retailer demonstrating the Sodastream Genesis.  This was my chance to inspect and sample the product to determine if a Sodastream Review was even necessary.

The Sodastream Review process begins:

I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised.  The unit seemed to function exactly as promised.  The product specialist showed me and the gathering crowd exactly how the machine worked.  Its simple design and function made it easy to use.  The Sodamix flavors were not exactly like the comparable brand but were close and some were even better.  The Sodamix flavors would not be an issue for me.  The first major benefit I noticed is that the consumer has the ability to control exactly how the soda turns out.  Here is a quick little video that shows you the basics of how the machines work.

CLICK HERE for FREE SHIPPING on the Sodastream Penguin, CrystalPureGenesisFountain Jet or Sodastream Fizz in BlackBlueGreen, Red or Pink

 

Some Immediate Benefits You’ll Notice: Sodastream Review  - Sodastream Reviews

  • You Determine Level of Carbonation: If you like your drinks highly carbonated, just hit the button more.  If you like your drink less carbonated, just hit the button less.
  • You Determine the Flavor: The Sodastream Sodamix Bottle looks like a mini laundry detergent bottle.  The cap has two lines on the inside that help judge how much syrup to use.  You are in complete control of the flavoring.  Use more or less at your discretion.  You can even mix Sodastream Sodamix Syrups if you like.  I tried this with the Diet Cola and Cola Free syrups and loved the result.  If you don’t like using the Sodamix, you can make your own using homemade soda recipes or healthy fruits and juices to make your own natural & healthy sparkling water and soda…but we’ll get into that more on my Sodastream Sodamix page.

I liked the demonstration well enough to purchase the product, give it a try and perform my own Sodastream Review.  Unfortunately, I was more interested in the design aesthetic and features of the Sodastream Crystal and Sodastream Penguin.  I asked the Product Specialist where I could locate them but there were none available locally.  I would have to order online if I wanted it quickly.  The family voted on the Sodastream Penguin and we placed our order.  More details on the Sodastream Penguin are available on my Sodastream Penguin Review Page.

My Sodastream Review after continuous and extensive use:

Sodastream made several claims about their product.  Let’s start the formal Sodastream Review by breaking them down and seeing how the Sodastream Home Soda Maker stacks up against the manufacturer’s claims.

  • “Keeps drinks fresh and fizzy longer than store-bought bottles”: I’ve got to give Sodastream this one.  All bottles have a nice seal that keeps your drinks fresh.  I have yet to have a bottle of soda go flat.  
  • No Cleanup: Technically, you can just rinse out your bottles and move on.  I prefer to wash my bottles.  My Sodastream Penguin uses glass bottles which, I wash and sanitize in the dishwasher.  It was my main motivation in looking at the Sodastream Crystal and Sodastream Penguin.  I blame it on my mild tendencies to be a bit obsessive compulsive about cleaning and sanitizing anything that comes in contact with food or drink.  My Sodastream Fountain Jet, however, has plastic bottles I must wash by hand.  I get Sodastream’s point but as with any product, there is some cleanup involved but it is very minimal.
  • No Electricity: This is absolutely true.  There is no electricity required.  The carbonation takes place by pressing the button or lever releasing the Co2 for carbonation.  The fact no electricity is required allows you to place the product anywhere you want.
  • No Toting Bottles/Cans & Storage Space: Obviously, this is true but you don’t realize how much you’ll appreciate not having to pick these items up any longer.  It just seems like grocery shopping is easier.  You’ll also appreciate the additional storage space you gain by eliminating these items.  I currently store 10 different flavors in the space two 2-Liter bottles used to occupy.
  • No Empties to Recycle or Throw Away: I did not realize how much of our weekly recycling came from the beverages we consume.  We used to set two large overflowing recycling bins on the curb every week.  Now, we don’t even fill one.  The Sodastream Sodamix bottles are fully recyclable and biodegradable.  Carbonators are refillable and can be exchanged at a participating retailer.  I know it is hard to believe but the reduction in waste is amazing!
  • Earth Friendly: I think this is a bit of a judgment call.  If you really want to analyze this, you need to know the resources consumed in the manufacturing process and what it would take to offset that.  With that said, however, it seems logical to me that the product is truly Earth Friendly as the manufacture states.  My family’s waste/recycling reduction alone is quite significant as noted above.  The manufacturer states one 60L carbonator is equivalent to 170 cans of soda (30 2-Liter bottles).  They state the 110L carbonator is equivalent to 310 aluminum cans (55 2-Liter Bottles).  The carbonators are 100% recyclable and reusable.  The carbonator exchange program encourages green behavior by saving you money over a non-exchanged replacement and the exchange program is extremely easy to use.  In my humble opinion, the product is very Earth Friendly.
  • Save Money: This is another subjective area and greatly depends on what type of soda you purchase, the price you pay, if you waste any flat soda and how carbonated you like your beverages.  Here is how I looked at the cost for my Sodastream Review.  My family purchases 2-Liter bottles for the most part.  In my market, we pay on average $1.89 per 2-Liter bottle of brand name soda and $0.79 for store brand soda.  The 60L carbonator costs me about $15 in the exchange program which breaks down to $0.25 per Liter or $0.50 per 2-Liter (huge savings for sparkling water drinkers).  The Sodamix ranges in price from $4.99-$9.99 depending on where you get it and the flavor. My family mostly uses flavors at $4.99 per bottle but I used $5.00 in my calculations.  Each Sodamix bottle makes approximately 12 Liters, which equates to approximately $0.42 per Liter or $0.83 per 2 Liters.  This makes the total cost for me $1.33 per 2-Liter bottle of soda made with Sodastream Sodamix.  This is less than brand name soda but more expensive than store brand soda.  With that said, how many times have you chugged down flat soda?  If you are like my family, that flat store bought soda typically gets poured down the drain.  I personally HATE flat soda.  I will not drink it.  For me, the value in always having a perfectly carbonated and flavored soda with no waste adds tremendous value to the product.   The hermetic seal on the Sodastream caps and bottles do a great job of keeping your sparkling water and soda fresh.  I have yet to have sparkling water or soda made with my Sodastream go flat.  My family saves money.  Your family may be different.  We also save money by using fresh fruit and fruit juice to make our own flavored sodas.  You’ll be surprised how much you use a Sodastream Home Soda Maker for your own custom beverages once you have one.  PLEASE NOTE: Your cost will vary depending on how carbonated you make your water and how much Sodamix you use.
  • Quick & Easy to Use: Absolutely, it doesn’t get any easier.  It’s also fun and a huge conversation starter when you have guests in your home.  I can’t tell you how many fun conversations began by someone noticing our Sodastream Penguin.  Guests love making their own soda in their choice of flavors and many have purchased a Sodastream Home Soda Maker after using ours.  Convenience is also a major benefit of the product.  There is nothing more convenient than having the ability to create your own perfectly carbonated beverage from a variety of Sodastream Sodamix flavors without consuming tons of storage space.
  • Large Variety of Flavors: The Sodastream Sodamix brand currently offers 21 Regular Flavors, 17 Diet Flavors and 4 Flavor Essence options for sparkling flavored water.  Sodastream also launched a new line of flavors called Sparkling Naturals, which offers 8 additional All Natural Flavors with no artificial sweeteners.  This combined with the fact that you can make your own natural soda using fresh juices and natural flavorings means your options are limited only by your imagination.  Variety of Flavors?  Absolutely!!  However, using Sodastream Sodamix is not for everyone as ALL Sodamix in the U.S. & Canada contains Sucralose (Splenda®).  Sodastream gets a lot of negative criticism for this.  Sodastream’s Sparkling naturals offer an alternative for those interested in a more natural alternative and you can always use homemade soda recipes to make your own flavors.  If you have any concerns about the Sodastream Sodamix, I strongly recommend you visit my Sodastream Sodamix Review page before purchasing a Sodastream Home Soda Maker.
  • SodastreamFewer Calories & Less Sodium than Regular Soda: Per their websites, Pepsi & Sierra Mist both have 100 Calories and 20mg of Sodium per 8oz serving.  Coca Cola contains 170 calories and 55mg of Sodium while Sprite has 100 calories and 45mg of Sodium.  The Sodastream Syrups definitely have fewer calories (averages 35 calories) but the sodium content varies by flavor and may/may not be less than what you are consuming today.
  • No High-Fructose Corn Syrup & No Aspartame (NutraSweet®): If you took note of the nutritional label to the right, you probably noticed that there was no High-Fructose Corn Syrup.  The regular flavors use a combination of Sugar and Sucralose (Splenda®).  This is how Sodastream offers a full flavored cola with so few calories.  The diet flavors use Sucralose (Splenda®) as the only sweetener.  Those of you that refuse to use artificial sweeteners will likely find this to be a deal breaker.  You can still enjoy the Flavor Essences and the Sparkling Naturals line of  flavors but many folks fault Sodastream for their approach to sweeteners.  Of course, there is always the option of making your own all-natural sodas with the carbonated water created by the Sodastream Home Soda Maker and a little imagination.  For my family, the use of Sucralose (Splenda®) was a bonus.  This is the only artificial sweetener we use.  You can learn more about the Sodastream Sodamix along with tips to get the best results on my Sodamix page.  (Note to visitors outside the United States & Canada: Aspartame is used in other countries.  You may want to check ingredients in your country.)

Wow!  That is a lot of information to take into consideration.  Would you believe we aren’t quite done yet?  There is still much to cover in this Sodastream Review and there are more Sodastream Review pages to view.

Before we move on with my Sodastream Review, I wanted to give you something amusing as a reward for sticking with me.  I learned about the Sodastream Home Soda Maker when I received a call from a friend asking for a Sodastream Review.  How I went through life without knowing this product existed still amazes me.  I had originally assumed this was a new infomercial product that would quickly fade.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  Sodastream actually dates back to 1903 according to their website, is sold in 41 countries and has been quite popular in the International Market for some time.  During my research, I stumbled across an old commercial that gave me a chuckle.  I thought I would share it with you here. – Sodastream Review – Sodastream Reviews

CLICK HERE for FREE SHIPPING on the Sodastream Penguin, CrystalPureGenesisFountain Jet or Sodastream Fizz in BlackBlueGreen, Red or Pink

Now you have “Get Busy with the Fizzy” stuck in your head, don’t you?  I’m sure I’ll get some hate mail from a few people but come on; you had to chuckle, right?

Overall, I highly recommend this product.  Our family has been very pleased with our Sodastream Penguin.  It has lived up to all of its promises and I couldn’t be happier.  I was so happy with it that I purchased a Sodastream Fountain Jet for use at the office.  To date, I have yet to meet anyone that made an educated decision to purchase and was unhappy.  I do, however, believe it is important to match the model to the needs of your family.  I also believe that where you purchase your product is very important. Sodastream seems to make no bones about the substantial shipping charge applied when you order directly from them.  They even go so far as to display a comment in the shopping cart stating you can avoid shipping charges by shopping elsewhere.  For example, Sodastream was going to charge me $29.00 just to ship our Sodastream Penguin.  NO THANKS!  I kept shopping and ordered our Sodastream Penguin with FREE Shipping and it arrived in just under a week.  The shipping times I have experienced when ordering Sodamix directly from Sodastream has varied wildly.  I have experienced delays up to 5 weeks (during inventory) to my most recent shipment arriving in under a week.  I typically just exchange my carbonators and purchase most Sodastream Sodamix locally.  For those items I can’t get locally, I order from a trusted online retailer.

Sodastream Review Update:  Sodastream has switched to using UPS for all shipments of their product.  Since this change took place, feedback from other customers is that the shipping times have dramatically improved with some customers reporting receiving their order in just a couple of days.  I will continue to monitor this feedback and update my Sodastream Review accordingly.

My Sodastream Review Recommendations - Sodastream Reviews

If you would like to own a Sodastream Home Soda Maker of your own, I recommend the following:

  • Do your research and determine which model is best for you.  I have personally conducted a hands on sodastream review of all models except the Sodastream Crystal and offer a detailed Sodastream Review for the Sodastream CrystalSodastream FizzSodastream Fountain Jet, Sodastream Genesis, Sodastream Penguin and Sodastream Pure.  I also have a Sodastream Dynamo Deluxe page with as many details as I can provide but until I put it through the test, I’m not about to call it a full Sodastream Review.  Each of my Sodastream Review pages contain a detailed sodastream review of each model’s features & benefits, Pros & Cons of each model, a video demonstration/review and additional reviews by other customers.  In addition, I also provide the bundled purchasing options available, how to get the best price and free shipping options when available.  All the information you need to make an informed and educated decision is contained within this Sodastream Review site.  For those of you that are more visual, here is a chart showing the ratings for each of the Top 5 Sodastream Models based upon an average of my Sodastream Review ratings (Editor’s Ratings) and the ratings from Sodastream Reviews submitted by other MySodastreamReview.com visitors:
 
Sodastream Penguin Review

Sodastream Pure Review

Sodastream Genesis Review

Sodastream Fountain Jet Review

Sodastream Fizz Review
Average Rating
Style / Design
Construction Quality
Ease Of Use
Durability
Perceived Value
 Visit SiteVisit SiteVisit SiteVisit SiteVisit Site
 Read ReviewsRead ReviewsRead ReviewsRead ReviewsRead Reviews
  • Order your product from a trusted online retailer.   This will save you the aggravation of finding the different models locally.  If you are lucky enough to stumble upon the model of your choice, by all means, snatch it up.  If not, purchase from a respected online retailer that can facilitate the processing and shipment of your Sodastream Home Soda Maker in a timely fashion without overcharging for shipping.  As I have mentioned in this Sodastream Review, I was able to order the Sodastream Penguin with FREE Shipping. Bonus!
  • If your starter kit does not come with Sodamix (and most don’t), I recommend ordering some.  If you are not sure which Sodamix flavors to try, add a Sodastream Sodamix Variety 12-Pack to your order.  They are inexpensive and offer samples of the 12 most popular regular and diet flavors.  Our Sodastream Penguin did not come with this but a Genesis we gave some friends did.  Our friends said they thoroughly enjoyed trying all the different Sodastream Flavors and fell in love with some they never would have tried otherwise.  You can learn more about the Sodastream Sodamix Syrups on my Sodamix Review page.
  • Don’t forget to add in any additional accessories you may need.  Some items, like additional Sodastream Glass Bottles can be a bit challenging to find locally.  If you are ordering a model that uses the plastic bottles, these are much easier to find.
  • If your kit does not come with a spare carbonator, you should strongly consider picking one up.  These carbonators last for quite some time depending on your daily use and the carbonation level you prefer but once they run out, they simply run out.  It is very handy to have a spare on hand to simply replace it and exchange the empty the next time you are out running errands.  The SodaStream 60-Litre Carbonator typically sells for $29.00 on average without going through the exchange program and fits all models.  The larger SodaStream 130-Liter Carbonator sells for $49.99 on average without an exchange and fits ONLY the Sodastream Fizz, FountainJet, Edition 1 and Dynamo units.

Sodastream Review Tip:  If you are considering the 130L Carbonator, you should be aware that most participating retailers do not participate in the exchange program for these carbonators.  You will most likely have to exchange these through Sodastream’s carbonator exchange program.

  • You will want to identify a local retailer where you can purchase Sodastream Sodamix that ALSO participates in the Carbonator Exchange program.  You can do that by using this Where To Buy Link.  The exchanges are very simple, you just walk up to the counter, hand them your old Carbonator and they give you a certified refilled Carbonator for $14.99 + Tax (60L Carbonator).
  • Finally, you might want to consider looking into some homemade soda recipes to take your Sodastream experience to a whole new level.  These recipes can be a bit difficult to find but you can check out my Homemade Soda Recipes page for a review of an excellent book that offers plenty of quick, easy and delicious recipes.

Whew!  Did you think you would ever get through my Sodastream Review?  I know I thought I would never finish writing it.  Thank you for taking the time to visit my site today and read my Sodastream Review.  It is my hope that my Sodastream Review site provides you with all of the information you could possibly need to make an informed and educated decision regarding your potential purchase.

Bonus Sodastream Review Tip: Clean, fill and store your Sodastream Bottles in the refrigerator so you’ll always start with cold water.  We fill our Sodastream Glass Bottles as soon as they come out of the dishwasher and store them in the refrigerator. If possible, use filtered water from your refrigerator or use an inexpensive pitcher water filter.  This eliminates much of the dissatisfaction from using tap water when making sparkling soda/water with your Sodastream Home Soda Maker.  For more tips on making the best possible sparkling water and soda, visit my Sodastream Sodamix page.

 

Home Soda Makers

There are Sodastream Value Kits options available that can save you between $10 to $20 and include additional items such as extra bottles, carbonators and/or Sodastream Flavors.  Depending on your need, these may be your best bet.  CLICK HERE to see the Sodastream Value Kit Options Available.

Sodastream Reviews

Don’t need a value kit? CLICK HERE to get FREE SHIPPING on the Sodastream Penguin, Sodastream CrystalSodastream PureSodastream GenesisSodastream Fountain Jet or Sodastream Fizz in BlackBlueGreen, Red or Pink

 From here, I recommend you take a look at the Sodastream Review for each model that interests you.  You will notice additional tabs at the top of the page for each Sodastream Review.  Or you can click on one of the Sodastream Review links below.

If you have a question that was not answered here, please feel free to leave a comment below or Contact Me privately.  I will do my best your questions or point you in the right direction.  Please read the Sodastream Review material I have provided before submitting a comment/question.  Thanks again for taking the time to visit MySodastreamReview.com – The Sodastream Review Site.

Note: This Sodastream Review site is targeted towards those new to Sodastream Products.  If you landed on this page and own a Sodastream Home Soda Maker of your own, please visit the Sodastream Review page for your model and leave your own Sodastream Review.

DMCA.com

76 Responses to Sodastream Review – The Sodastream Product Overview
  1. Zapora Churchill
    June 27, 2014 | 1:00 PM

    I like the soda stream. I just do not like the Splenda that is in almost ALL of the mixes. Certainly you could be using Stevia or Xylitol instead.
    It is great for saving the plastic bottles and cans for the environment. It would be a great thing to have this be a bit healthier than using Splenda.

    Thanks for listening,
    Zapora Churchill

    • Luke
      June 29, 2014 | 1:27 PM

      Thanks for your message Zapora. First, I just want to clarify and make sure you understand this this is MySodastreamReview, a personal website I created to provide people with the information I wish was available when I first discovered Sodastream. I have no input into Sodastream’s business or their use of sweeteners, etc. With that said, however, Sodastream has launched a large variety of new flavors I will be adding to the flavors section of the site shortly. They now offer Sodastream Sodamix Sweetened with Stevia and a full line of natural flavors called Sodastream Sparkling Naturals. I will be adding new pages under the Sodastream Flavors page shortly. Thanks again for your message. – Luke

  2. debbie
    June 25, 2014 | 10:19 AM

    Can you use expired syrups. Are they safe to use.

    • Luke
      June 25, 2014 | 12:49 PM

      Hi Debbie,

      Thanks for posting your question. The answer, however, depends on who’s syrup you are referring to. I will assume here you are asking about Sodadtream’s Sodamix Syrups. Each bottle is stamped with a “best before” date. The intent of the date is to guarantee best results and “freshness” of your soda. Sodastream’s official response to this question appears on their frequently asked questions page. It reads as follows:

      “…when tightly closed and stored in a cool, dry place, sodamix may be consumed for several months beyond the date on the label. Please contact info@sodastreamsupport.com or call 1-800-763-2258 with any questions or concerns regarding sodamix expiration dates.”

      If you are referring to other syrups, particularly some of the all natural syrups requiring refrigeration, the expiration date should be considered as important as the expiration date on a carton of milk. Thanks again for taking the time to write in. – Luke

  3. Terry
    August 10, 2012 | 4:24 PM

    I went to buy a Penguin ai the local Williams Sonoma store here in Honolulu, but the said I couldn’t buy in Hawaii because the cartridges couldn’t be shipped here. I wanted one with glass bottles and that is why I chose the Penguin. Any suggestions or am I out of luck?
    Thanks,
    Terry

    • Luke
      August 10, 2012 | 5:31 PM

      Hi Terry, Thank you for leaving your question. Unfortunately, it is a bit difficult to get the Sodastream in Hawaii. The Marine Corps Exchange in Kanehoe Bay and the Navy Exchange in Honolulu are the only two locations where you can purchase a Sodastream or the Carbonators in Hawaii and Sodastream does not ship to Hawaii. The Fountain Jet is the only model they carry and I have been unable to locate a retailer here on the Mainland willing/able to ship to Hawaii. This has to do with the pressurized carbonators and the unwillingness of freight carriers to ship them via air. I wish I had better news for you. Thanks again for the comment. Here’s hoping additional options open up for you soon. – Take good care, Luke

  4. charlie c
    July 27, 2012 | 8:54 PM

    hi luke read your reviews and my wife and i purchased the fizz machine we love it but the only problem we have is the fizz chip dont work so after reading your reviews about the chip problem we contacted soda stream customer support and as you stated they are standing behind the product and they are going to send us a new chip thank you so much for the review and the info where to contact them about this keep up the good work and for the good reviews

    • Luke
      July 27, 2012 | 9:03 PM

      Hi Charlie, Thanks for visiting the site and leaving your comment. I am sorry to hear that you have a defective Fizz Chip. It has been a very long time since someone wrote in with a chip problem. I was really hoping Sodastream had resolved the problem.

      Thank you for taking the time to let me know you got a defective chip. It helps me gain a better understanding of what Sodastream customers are experiencing. The replacement chip should solve your problem but please keep me posted on what happens. I like to follow product problems through resolution so I can advise visitors accordingly.

      Once you have a working Fizz, please come back and leave your own review on my Sodastream Fizz page. It will only take a moment to do but could prove very helpful for someone else considering that model. Just visit my Sodastream Fizz page, scroll to the very bottom, click on the stars in the rating categories and leave your thoughts for others in the comments section. Make sure you mention the problem with the chip, how Sodastream handled it and your honest opinion of the Fizz overall.

      Thanks again for the comment and the kind words. – Take good care, Luke

  5. Jim Anderson
    July 21, 2012 | 6:25 PM

    I have just purchased a 12 pack of trial sized samples of soda stream. ($12 canadian) On the carton it clearly claims that these are to be used with the sodastream home soda maker. There is also a statement that each of the samples makes 1 litre
    (4 servings). Is this a mis print? If so, how much water should I use with each sample.? For trial purposes can I simply purchase some carbonated water ? If this all works fine I will be purchasing a sodamaker.

    • Luke
      July 21, 2012 | 7:35 PM

      Hi Jim,

      Thanks for visiting the site and for leaving your question. There is no reason you can’t use the sampler with Seltzer you purchase from you local store. You will not have the same level of control over your carbonation and flavoring as you would with a Sodastream but it will give you a good idea whether or not you’ll like the flavors. Each sample bottle is intended to make 1 Liter of soda once it is mixed. If I were trying this method, I would simply add one sample bottle to one liter of store bought seltzer. I thought the samples were a bit strong for 1 liter when I tried them but that’s my personal opinion. Others have felt exactly the opposite and tend to prefer more syrup. Once you have a Sodastream, you’ll have full control over the amount of carbonation and syrup you use to make each bottle according to your personal preference. This is one of the benefits of the Sodastream product.

      Thanks again for your question. – Take good care, Luke

  6. Saul Rabazz
    April 24, 2012 | 2:23 PM

    I enjoy most of the benefits of a sodastream except one. They claim 50-60 liters from a 60L Carbonator. The most I got out of my Fountain Unit was 25L. They sent me a replacement and this time the most I got was 30L. And this was by doing less carbonation. If I followed their 3 Buzz advice I would have got even less.
    Anyone else tracking the number of liter bottles from one carbonator? What is the average.
    Saul

    • Luke
      April 24, 2012 | 7:25 PM

      Saul, I just replied to your email message but I will post my reply here as well so others can view my response.

      I have always disagreed with Sodastream’s reference of 60L and 130L for their carbonators. The yield from each Sodastream carbonator will vary from person to person depending upon their personal preferences. Since you are in full control of how much CO2 you use, you are also in control over the yield from each carbonator. The 60L and 130L is a reference to the number of liters Sodastream suggests you will get from each carbonator. However their reference is misleading and based upon low levels of carbonation. In reality, very few people will ever see this kind of yield from a carbonator.

      I can’t tell you with any certainty how many liters you will get because of the variables involved. I can tell you our personal yield varies from carbonator to carbonator but we average somewhere between 35 to 50 liters on average from a 60L carbonator. The variation in yield depends on what we are making and who is using the machine. For example, our son tends to over carbonate his beverages while our daughter likes only light fizz in what she drinks. We also have a tendency to tailor the level of carbonation to the beverage we are making. For example, if I am carbonating infused water, I tend to use very light carbonation. However, if I am carbonating a homemade soda, I carbonate rather heavily.

      I realize this is not the response you were hoping for but I would be misleading you if I said you should get “X liters” per carbonator. The truth is that it will all depend on your personal preferences and use of the machine.

      I will say that your yield of 25 to 30 liters sounds low to me. I have gotten this low yield before but it was when I was I knew I was carbonating very heavily. I would question whether or not your buzzer is defective and misleading you to use more carbonation than is necessary. You can test this by carbonating less and seeing how your beverages turn out. I might also suggest you contact Sodastream directly and have them troubleshoot your Fountain Jet with you. If it is defective, they should replace it at no charge to you (assuming it is still under warranty). You can reach Sodastream at 800-763-2258 here in the US. If you are in another country, just let me know and I’ll help you track down the right number. – Thanks again for your email and comment. – Take care, Luke

  7. Ann Mathias
    March 30, 2012 | 3:05 PM

    Hi Luke – you have done a wonderful job in presenting all of this information, and it’s really helped me understand the differences between the models. My question is whether there is any difference in the size of the glass carafe versus the plastic bottles. It looks like the plastic bottles are 1 liter – aren’t the carafes 20 ounces? I like the Penguin, but may have to go with one of the other models if they have bigger bottles. Thanks very much!

    • Luke
      March 30, 2012 | 5:41 PM

      Hi Ann, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and taking the time to leave your question. I also appreciate the kind words, thank you!

      You are correct in the difference in bottle size. If you browse over to my Sodastream Penguin page, you’ll see I reference 650 ml (20oz) Glass Bottles for the Sodastream Penguin. The bottles are also the same size for the Sodastream Crystal. The other models all use the 1 Liter Plastic Bottles. Some prefer the larger plastic bottles while others, like myself, prefer the smaller cut glass carafes. It all comes down to personal preference and you’ll just need to make a decision based upon your personal needs and preferences.

      Thanks again for visiting the site and leaving your comment. If you do pick up a Sodastream, please come back and leave your own Sodastream Review for your model. – Take good care, Luke

  8. Bob
    March 26, 2012 | 4:35 PM

    looking into your sodastream unit as I drink alot of plain seltzer, but it seems the CO2 refill goes for close to $90 is that correct???

    • Luke
      March 27, 2012 | 5:18 PM

      Bob, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and for leaving your question. I apologize it took a while to get back with you. I have been dealing with some issues related to a recent server migration.

      NO! Absolutely not! Refills for the 60 L Carbonators (the one most people use) should go for around $15.00. The cost of an exchange for the 130 L carbonator should be about $30. I see what has caused your confusion though, I have some links on this page that show a popup from Amazon.com for the spare (new) carbonators to provide additional information and show the average customer rating. It appears they are rather proud of them at the moment. These prices are either an error on Amazon’s part of a crazy retailer trying to get more for the carbonators that they are worth. I will do some research into this and see if I can’t figure out the problem. By the way, new (spare) carbonators sell for around $30 for the 60 Liter and $50 for the 130 Liter carbonators. You only pay these prices for the initial purchase. Afterwards, pricing is based upon the exchange rates for refills I mentioned above.

      Thanks again for visiting the site. – Take care, Luke

  9. Nikki Fahey
    March 6, 2012 | 11:46 PM

    I have a quick question…

    What is the biggest difference between the Jet and Genesis? Thanks for the reviews

    Nikki

    • Luke
      March 7, 2012 | 11:58 PM

      Hi Nikki, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and leaving your question. The major differences between the Fountain Jet and the Genesis are in the style/design and ease of use. The Genesis has a slightly more appealing design and the method of attaching the bottle to the unit is a bit easier. There is no button/lever to hold while attaching the bottle to the Genesis. The fitting on the Genesis tilts out and stays in place while you screw on or remove the bottle. With the Fountain Jet, you have to hold the lever to keep the bottle/fitting in the correct position for attaching/removing the bottle. Aside from this, they perform the same function. Thanks again for visiting the site. – Take care, Luke

  10. Beth
    February 18, 2012 | 5:27 PM

    Hi Luke,
    Thanks for all this well-organized and comprehensive information!
    We love to drink seltzer, but we hardly drink flavored sodas at all.
    I’m considering getting the Penguin (because I want glass bottles), but considering we can get seltzer for about $.88 a bottle at the store, I’m torn.
    So, would you have gotten your Penguin just for seltzer-making? Or is the real benefit of these machines in the flavored sodas you can make?
    Thanks for your help!

    • Luke
      February 18, 2012 | 10:56 PM

      Beth, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and for leaving your question. I would like to say that the answer to your question could be a simple yes or no but it isn’t that easy. At the time I got into Sodastream, Sparkling Water or Seltzer was not my primary focus. I was a big soda nut at the time. Now, I am more about sparkling waters with natural flavorings and am experimenting with carbonating fruit and herb/spice infused water with the Sodastream. This isn’t to say I am unhappy with the soda options. I still like the sodas but by experimenting with the Sodastream and some homemade soda recipes, I have found beverages I like better than what I can make with store bought products. I drink a lot more seltzer now than I did then (funny how things change). At the time I originally got into Sodastream, I probably wouldn’t have considered it for seltzer alone but I would absolutely purchase a Sodastream for seltzer alone now. Here are a few reasons why:

      1. No more lugging the bottles from the store, no worries about storage or running out of seltzer. I have it when I want it.
      2. I know I harp on this but the reduction in waste is amazing. I no longer have guilt about the piles of bottles in the recycling bin each week.
      3. My sparkling water (seltzer) is always fresh and fizzy. I never have to throw any away because it went flat.
      4. I control how carbonated my sparkling water is. This may not sound like a big deal but to me, it really is. There are times I only want a little carbonation in my drink and there are others that I like heavily carbonated beverages. Having this option is a great benefit for me.
      5. When I want a flavored seltzer, I make it when I want it using ingredients I have in my kitchen. No more worries about wanting a flavored seltzer only to have it go flat or compromising what flavors I have on hand because I’m the only one that drinks it. The flavors I make at home are completely natural and never have that “fake” flavor.

      Ok, so that was a little more than a few. I could list many more but I think you get my point. Now, these are my motivators for continuing to use the Sodastream and why I would buy one for seltzer alone. My reasons continue to evolve and change as my tastes change. You should look at your reasons for considering Sodastream and determine if it is worth it for you.

      I think the Sodastream Penguin or Crystal could be a great option. You will love the cut glass carafes. Just make sure you read through my Sodastream Penguin Review page before you make your decision. I hope that makes your decision a bit easier. – Take good care, Luke

      • Beth
        February 20, 2012 | 9:26 AM

        Thanks so much for that detailed reply, Luke! I didn’t even look at your soda recipe section yet, because I thought that wasn’t my thing, but the drinks you mention here never even occurred to me, and sound delicious. I’ll check that section out now.

        Also, a prime reason I was thinking of the Penguin, instead of buying seltzer, is that I know the water I use at home is very well filtered, whereas I have no idea where the water in the store seltzer comes from, and I’m pretty sure it’s just tap water, unfiltered, from wherever the plant happens to be.

        • Luke
          February 20, 2012 | 10:25 AM

          Beth, You are very welcome. I never would have thought about using the Sodastream for anything other than plain sparkling water and soda made with Sodastream’s mixes in the beginning. It was Andrew Schloss’ book, Homemade Soda Recipes, that opened the door to new possibilities for me. Right now, my Soda Recipes page is simply a review of this book but I hope to expand on this topic in the future. The idea for carbonating infused waters came after reading Schloss’ book and stumbling on an Infusion Pitcher. I didn’t know such a thing existed before.

          Most companies that make the sparkling water you see in stores filter tap water to make their product. As you point out, however, you have no idea what the quality of that water is. If you are pleased with your filtered water, you should be pleased with the results you get from a Sodastream. Sodastream offers a satisfaction guarantee so if you are unhappy for any reason, you should not have a problem getting a refund. I doubt you will find that necessary and expect you will be very pleased with the Sodastream Penguin. I couldn’t be happier with mine.

          Thanks again for your comments and questions. If you do get a Sodastream Penguin, please come back to the site and leave your own Sodastream Penguin Review – Take good care, Luke

          • Beth
            February 20, 2012 | 3:02 PM

            Thanks again, Luke!

  11. Ashley
    January 20, 2012 | 9:17 PM

    Wow! I love how much information you have on here. I have been wanting to buy a Soda Stream for so long but hadn’t heard or seen any reviews. I have a couole questions. I am from Canada and can’t seem to find anywhere other than Bed bath and beyond to buy one. I am leaning towards the models with the glass jars but don’t know where to look. Also just wondering if there is a site in the States that I can use to order the syrups? Canada doesn’t have all the fun diet flavors. As well how much syrup do I need to add to the glass carafe since it is smaller than the plastic bottles. Thanks in advance

    • Luke
      January 20, 2012 | 10:23 PM

      Hi Ashley, Thank you for visiting my Sodastream Review site and taking the time to leave your questions. Your kind words are most appreciated.

      I wish I had some great resources for you in Canada but I have had a difficult time finding them as well. From my understanding, you don’t have as many options as we have here in the States. You are already aware of Bed Bath & Beyond but you could also go through Sodastream Canada directly. Aside from that, I don’t know where to point you. Sodastream Canada may have a better idea. You can call them directly at 1-877-436-5866. If they give you any good resources, please post a reply for other Canadians that find my site. Amazon is usually my go to place if I can’t find something and don’t want to get it from Sodastream directly but your Amazon store does not carry Sodastream for some reason. I wish I had a better answer for you. You’re right though, you have about 1/3 the Diet Flavors we have here in the states. Have you considered making your own soda syrups? I frequently modify the Homemade Soda Recipes in Andrew Schloss’ book by using Splenda or Stevia (even though he recommends against it) and have been quite pleased with the results.

      As for the Glass Bottles, I personally think this is a great choice. I prefer the cut glass bottles to the plastic bottles for many reasons. Assuming your sodamix caps are the same as ours, you will see a line on the inside of the cap. As a general rule, I fill the cap to the line when making soda with my Sodastream Penguin and I fill it to the top of the cap when making soda with my Fountain Jet. There are some flavors that I use less Sodamix for but that is based on personal taste, I would start at the line and adjust to taste from there.

      Thanks again for visiting my Sodastream Review site and wish you the best of luck in your Sodastream Adventure. If you decide to get a Sodastream, please come back and leave a review on the page for your model. – Take good care, Luke

    • Jen
      February 7, 2012 | 9:19 PM

      I just bought the penguin today at Williams Sonoma Canada!

      • Luke
        February 8, 2012 | 8:44 AM

        Congratulations Jen! I think you will enjoy the Sodastream Penguin. Once you have used your Penguin for a while, please come back to the site and leave your own Sodastream Penguin Review on the Sodastream Penguin page. – Take care, Luke

  12. Rita K.
    January 17, 2012 | 2:59 PM

    I am researching the soda stream for my family . We have a large family and we do some entertaining as well as family gatherings!
    Now I am sure I do want one. You are right that they have these overseas. I lived there and around over 10 years ago someone had a similar one and I remember wondering why we don’t have them in America.I guess I wasn’t aware that we did.
    Your review has convinced me to get one but I need to decide which model.
    I am not sure where and if I can get the refills of CO2 so I have more research but I am sure I want one now! Im leaning toward glass.
    Thanks

    I found your review through a search engine and I am glad I did!
    Thanks!!

    • Luke
      January 17, 2012 | 4:10 PM

      Rita, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and leaving your comments. Most people find it rather easy to do the exchanges locally. I prefer Bed Bath & Beyond for mine but will go to Williams-Sonoma from time to time. You can use my Where To Buy Sodastream link to find a place for local exchanges. Just enter your zip code and you should see a list. If for some reason you don’t have a local exchange option, Sodastream offers an exchange program with shipping through UPS. Thanks again for visiting my Sodastream Review site. I wish you the best of luck in your new adventure. – Take good care, Luke

  13. Michelle J
    December 31, 2011 | 5:05 PM

    Hi Luke,

    We bought the SodaStream as a family gift this year. The kids thought it would be cool, and I love the fact that it has 1/3 of the calories as regular soda. That being said, I’m getting “flat” pop. Not sure what I’m doing wrong. I push the carbonator until it I hear the 3 buzzes as instructed, but it seems to lose all the fizz as soon as I remove the bottle. Any ideas?

    I will put a comment on the sodastream website and suggest they leave more instruction for a novice like me:) Thanks for your input. I love the website!

    • Luke
      January 3, 2012 | 10:09 AM

      Michelle,

      Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and for leaving your comments. I apologize it took me a while to reply. It is rare my family get time together and I made the most of the holiday to spend time with them.

      There could be any number of things that could be taking place. My guess, is that you just have not gotten the hang of using your Sodastream yet. I will be publishing a new page with some best practices and tips that could help solve this problem. Until then, I want to make sure you are following a couple simple steps that should guarantee fresh and fizzy sparkling soda and water.

      1. Make sure you are using chilled water. The colder the water the better. Cold water is easier to carbonate and will produce the best results. We store our filled bottles in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours before we carbonate.

      2. Make sure you are using quick and controlled bursts when you carbonate. Press and release the button quickly. It will take numerous bursts like this to get your first buzz. Short bursts of CO2 will help agitate the water and distribute the CO2 more efficiently to improve carbonation. Whatever you do, don’t just press and hold the button until the machine buzzes. You will consume more CO2 and the water will not be as carbonated as well.

      You might also want to take the time to watch the videos I have on each page of the stie. This will show you how to properly use the Sodastream. I have tried to pick out the best videos possible to demonstrate the machine’s use. Also look for my tips under the video as I’ll typically comment on something I want to point out in each video. If you follow these instructions and still have problems, give Sodastream a call directly and they will troubleshoot your process with you. Thanks again for visiting my Sodastream Review site. – Take good care, Luke

  14. Rebecca
    December 27, 2011 | 12:54 PM

    Loved reading through all this information. I’m a diet coke person and I have to say, while the SodaStream is not an exact match, it is pretty darned close. I love it and can’t wait to try other flavors!

    • Luke
      December 27, 2011 | 1:12 PM

      Hi Rebecca, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and for leaving your comment. I would agree that the Diet Cola version is very close to Diet Coke. I would say it is almost identical to the Splenda version of Diet Coke. There are so many flavor options you can try but keep in mind you may need to adjust the amount of Sodastream Syrup you use depending on the flavor. This can make a big difference in the taste. Keep in mind that you can also make your own flavors using fruit juices and other ingredients you have around your home. Homemade Soda Recipes offer another fun option but is a bit more challenging for us Diet soda drinkers. We have experimented using Splenda and Stevia as a sweetener substitute in many recipes and were pleased with the results. Your imagination will guide you in creating all kinds of fun drink options using your Sodastream. Once you have given yours a good test, please come back to the site and leave your own Sodastream Review on the page for your model. You will find the review categories at the very bottom of the page under the comment section. Thanks again for visiting the site and leaving your comment. – Take care, Luke

  15. Tom
    December 27, 2011 | 12:32 PM

    Hi Luke. Thanks for the Sodastream info. I just got the Jet for Christmas and was wondering if you can store soda or water in other containers such as used water bottles, etc. Also, how long will the carbonation last in the refrigerator?

    • Luke
      December 27, 2011 | 1:05 PM

      Tom, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and leaving your question. You could technically store your beverages in any container you wish but you can only carbonate water in the Sodastream Bottles. As part of my tests with the various Sodastream models and bottles, I have stored refrigerated beverages in a Sodastream bottle for up to 5 days with no problem. This was only as part of a test and is not typical for our household. We keep bottles filled with water in the refrigerator so we always have a chilled bottle of water ready for carbonation. We don’t carbonate or make our beverages until we want them and they are typically consumed within a day or two. One of the advantages of the Sodastream is that you are making 20 oz. (Penguin & Crystal) to 1 Liter (all other models) servings when you are ready for them. There isn’t as much soda to consume as say a two-liter bottle of soda purchased from the store and the Sodastream bottles have a very good seal. If 20 oz. or 1 liter is more than you can consume in a reasonable time, you also have the option of the 1/2-liter bottles as an accessory item. With that said, I have yet to have sparkling water or soda made with the Sodastream go flat before it was consumed. We have not had to think about flat soda since we got our first Sodastream over a year ago. I hope that helps answer your questions. Thanks again for visiting my Sodastream Review site. – Take good care, Luke

  16. Meredith
    December 22, 2011 | 9:20 PM

    I recently was given a Soda Stream as a gift. I love it however it leaks alot when carbonating. Leaks enough that the needle no longer hits the water. At first it worked great, I heard the loud buzz and the soda was nice and fizzy. Now I cant carbonate enough because the water leaks. I have the bottle screwed on tight, it appears to be leaking out of the top. Any suggestions?

    • Luke
      December 23, 2011 | 10:55 AM

      Meredith, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and taking time to leave your question. I am very sorry to hear you are having problems with your Sodastream. Would you mind telling me which model you have? I track any complaints, problems or concerns I receive from my readers by model so I can report any significant problems if they arise.

      Obviously, you are using one of the units with a plastic bottle. In my experience, this problem is typically related to one of a few things.

      1. Bottle Damage: Any type of damage to the Sodastream bottle or the threads on the bottle can prevent the unit from creating a tight seal and spray out can occur. If you have washed the bottles in the dishwasher, for example, the bottle may have warped preventing it from creating a tight seal. I would recommend close inspection of the bottles to rule out this possibility. I personally made this mistake with my Fountain Jet because I mistakenly took my dishwasher’s manual at its word regarding the gentle cycle. I knew the bottles were not dishwasher safe but my dishwasher promised a hand wash gentle cycle I thought would be safe. I was wrong and it caused a similar problem. I resolved the problem by replacing the bottle.

      2. Overfilling: I doubt this is the case but since others will be reading, I will mention it. If you overfill the bottles, it can cause some spray out. Make sure the bottles are not filled past the water line of the bottle. It sounds like your problem is too severe for this to be the case though.

      3. Adding Ingredients into Water and/or Carbonating things other than water: I am going to assume this is not the case for you but I would be remis if I didn’t at least mention it. Most of the email messages I have received about this problem were caused by the user adding sodamix to the bottle before carbonation or trying to carbonate liquids other than water. I know some people have successfully carbonated other liquids but I do not recommend it. Sodastream warns against it and states they will void your warranty if you do. If you have done this, it may be what is causing your problem.

      4. The washer/gasket is worn out and needs to be replaced: This would only apply if your unit were at least a couple of years old. This does not sound like the case but I am mentioning it because others will read our exchange. The washers will eventually wear out and must be replaced. Replacement washers can be obtained directly from Sodastream.

      5. You have a defective unit: In any manufacturing process, there are bound to be flawed or defective units. I could just be that you were unfortunate enough to have gotten one. I have only had three similar reports like yours to date. In one instance, a Sodastream Genesis actually had an extra washer/gasket inside the unit that had to be removed. In the other two cases, we couldn’t determine a cause and assumed it was a defective unit. Both of those customers began experiencing a problem after about 30 days of use. Both ended up exchanging units and both have reported the new units are fine well after that 30 day mark. If this is the case, I would recommend calling Sodastream directly. If you are in the US, you can call them at 1-800-763-2258. If you are outside the US, let me know and I will help you track down the correct contact information.

      Again, thank you for taking the time to comment on my Sodastream Review site. Please keep me posted on what happens so I know how this gets resolved. You can use my Contact Me page to email me directly. Feel free to use that form to reach out to me if you would like to discuss this further or have any other questions. Once again, I’m sorry to hear about the problem you are having. I have no doubt that Sodastream wil make this right for you. – Happy Holidays, Luke

  17. Bethany
    December 20, 2011 | 10:32 AM

    I’m curious on the reviews of the “Diet Coke” version of the soda stream. I’m a big fan of Diet Pepsi and would only buy this if the flavor was a very close match. Have you heard anything or have an opinion on this? Thanks!

    • Luke
      December 20, 2011 | 10:44 AM

      Bethany, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and leaving your question. I would not compare the Sodastream Diet Cola to Diet Pepsi at all. In my opinion, it is a very close match to the Splenda version of Diet Coke but I would not recommend it for a Diet Pepsi fan. If you are married to Diet Pepsi but still wish to use a Sodastream, you might want to consider checking your local warehouse stores to buy Diet Pepsi syrup in bulk. I have talked with many folks that prefer this over using the Sodastream Flavors. I have not personally tried this approach but many visitors have written in to state they are pleased with the results. The challenges with this approach are storage space for the large boxes of syrup and the trial and error of figuring out the perfect syrup to carbonated water ratio. Once you have a source for the syrup and figure out how much syrup to use, you can have perfectly flavored and carbonated brand name soda made with a Sodastream. – Happy Holidays, Luke

  18. Larry
    December 7, 2011 | 3:12 PM

    Thank you for this site Luke. Like other posters, I appreciate the helpful, straightforward and courteous way you have conducted this effort.

    I have seen the Costco sodastream and I am considering a purchase. For people like the poster who didn’t or couldn’t use a local retailer for Co2 exchange (especially in light of the lack of 130L local exchangers) there will be the need to have adequate carbonator supply on hand. My inclination would be to order two or three more 130L when I buy the unit so that I could take advantage of the sodastream site “exchange rate” and free shipping (on large orders) and still have a cannister on hand. My long winded question is: do the Co2 cannisters have a useful shelf life? if so what is it?

    • Luke
      December 7, 2011 | 11:45 PM

      Hi Larry, Thanks for taking the time to visit my Sodastream Review site and leaving your comments. You are right on target. if you are going to go with the 130 L Carbonators, you will want to have enough on had to take advantage of the exchanges and make sure you don’t run out. The good news is that as long as your carbonator is stored correctly, it will last indefinitely. It isn’t like a perishable good that will expire so there is no concern about it spoiling. Just make sure you are storing it appropriately. We store ours in a cabinet out of direct sunlight in the kitchen and have had no problems.

      Thanks again for the question. Take good care, Luke

  19. Don Robinson
    November 21, 2011 | 8:16 PM

    Easy question:

    Can you use straight fruit juice, like cranberry, apple, pomegranate, etc., and just forget about using the mixes?

    Thanks,
    Don

    • Luke
      November 21, 2011 | 8:40 PM

      Hi Don,
      Thanks for taking the time to visit the site and leave your comment. You can use fruit juices as a replacement for the Sodastream flavors but you cannot use the machine to carbonate fruit juices. Some folks do but it isn’t recommended and can void your Sodastream warranty. With that said, however, we use fresh fruit juices and mix them with sparkling water from the Sodastream all the time. I haven’t met a fruit juice yet that I couldn’t make a refreshing drink with by mixing it with some sparkling water from the Sodastream and sometimes adding a little fresh fruit. Cranberry juice mixed with sparkling water from the Sodastream and a lime wedge is quite delicious. Your imagination is really your only limitation in the drinks you can make. I have a page on the site dedicated to Andrew Schloss’ book, Homemade Soda Recipes. Schloss provides several recipes that use fresh fruit juices that are great for use with the Sodastream. He also provides a ton of recipes for making your own syrups that work quite well with the Sodastream. If you haven’t already, take a look at my Homemade Soda Recipes page. If it is the ingredients in the Sodastream Sodamix (sucralose, artificial flavors/colors) you are trying to avoid, you can also try the Sodastream Sparkling Naturals. They don’t have the ingredients that turn some folks off about the Sodastream. All the ones we have tried have been quite good. You can learn more about them on my Sodastream Flavors page. Thanks again for leaving your question. Good luck with your Sodastream Adventure. – Take good care, Luke

  20. Jim
    November 4, 2011 | 4:50 PM

    Luke, Costco just started carrying a starter kit. They have the Dynamo Deluxe. Do you have any experience or reviews of the Dynamo Deluxe. The kit came with the Soda Maker, 2 1L stainless steel bottles, 130L Carbonator, and a 12 pack variety sample pack. Thanks for your site and reviews.

    • Luke
      November 4, 2011 | 5:39 PM

      Hi Jim, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and for taking the time to leave your question. I have not had the chance to test out the Dynamo Deluxe but I’ll share what I know about the model.

      The Dynamo Deluxe is a new model in the Sodastream lineup exclusively for sale at Costco. Based on my initial inspection of the model, it appears to be a redesigned Fountain Jet. The operation is very much the same but the unit is much more attractive than my Fountain Jet. I like the sleek design, black body and nickel accents. It also looks like Sodastream made it easier to attach and remove the bottle (my one major complaint with the Fountain Jet). My only concern is whether or not Costco will be participating in the carbonator exchange program for the 130 L Carbonators. Our local Costco got their first shipment this week and has already sold out. Unfortunately, when I asked about the Carbonator exchange program, they batted their eyes and looked at me like I had lost my mind. They had no clue what I was talking about.

      None of the other stores in my area participate in an exchange program for the 130 L Carbonators. Feedback received from other visitors indicate that this is not just specific to my area but that retailers, in general, do not exchange the 130 L Carbonators. I was hoping, however, that since the Sodastream Dynamo is exclusive to Costco and comes with the 130 L Carbonator that they would do exchanges for members. That didn’t appear to be the case here but the product is very new to them and they just might not be aware yet. I would definitely advise you to ask your local Costco about exchanges if you are looking seriously at this model. If you can’t exchange through Costco, you will likely be stuck doing your 130 L exchanges directly through Sodastream. The good news is that the Dynamo will take both the 60 L and 130 L carbonators so you could always pick up an extra 60 L carbonator for local exchanges. I always recommend having at least one spare on hand so you don’t find yourself without CO2 when you are craving a fizzy drink.

      Thanks again for visiting my Sodastream Review site. Please let me know if you decide to pick up the Dynamo. You can use my Contact Me page to shoot me an e-mail or just leave a reply below. I am sure other visitors would also appreciate knowing what you think of the Dynamo if you pick one up. – Take good care, Luke

      • Jim
        November 6, 2011 | 12:32 AM

        Luke,
        Thanks for getting back to me. I’ve been looking at the units for a few months now and then just happened to walk by one at Costco. I purchased the unit before I found your site. I checked the sodastream website and they had nothing. 2 days later it was up on their website. I also sent them an email asking more about the unit since the directions that came with the kit were not very good at all. I have not had a chance to try it yet but look forward to trying some of the flavors. I live about an hour away from any place that would do an exchange so I will probably have to use the mail exchange unless my local sears (appliances only) does an exchange program. So the 130L shouldn’t be a problem. Thank you again for your site. I have learned a lot, especially how to use the soda maker.

        Jim

        • Luke
          November 6, 2011 | 11:35 AM

          You’re welcome Jim. I will be adding a page to the site for this model in the near future. After you have used it for a while, come back and leave a review based on your experience. Until then, take good care and good luck with your Sodastream Dynamo. – Luke

  21. Tom M
    October 18, 2011 | 6:44 AM

    Good review! Thanks. I just purchased a “Fizz” and so far so good. I live about 90 min. from a dealer. My thought is why couldn’t my CO2 canister be filled at a dealer who refills CO2 canisters for paint ball guns? More convenient and cheaper. I’m aware of what the package insert says from Soda Stream. But, I’m sure their refilling station needs inspected on a regular basis and needs to be certified also. Thanks

    • Luke
      October 18, 2011 | 8:50 AM

      Hi Tom, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and for taking the time to leave your question. This is a question that I’ve gotten a few times in e-mail but has never appeared in public comments so I am glad you asked. This question has been debated at great length on other sites and forums dedicated to homemade soda and beer so there is a good deal of information that can be found on the Internet about this topic.

      For the purposes of this site, I only recommend using Sodastream’s carbonator exchange program for refilling the carbonators. There are many different modes of natural and chemical CO2 production, which result in a variety of specific impurities that can be present in the CO2. CO2 production intended for human consumption has different standards than CO2 production intended for welders or paint ball use. CO2 manufactured specifically for paint ball use is an excellent example of this as it usually contains added lubricating oil that is not suitable for human consumption.

      I am rather particular when it comes to what I will have in my home for consumption by my family so I have never seriously entertained the idea of anything other than the Sodastream carbonator exchange program. I personally want the reassurance of Sodastream’s quality control and safety standards in place. This peace of mind is worth more to me than any savings I might find from other options. As I mentioned above, I will only recommend using the Sodastream Carbonator exchange program on this site. There are MANY folks out there that will adamantly disagree with my position so it will be interesting to see if your question sparks a discussion from these folks who will undoubtedly offer you a different perspective.

      Thanks again for your question and congratulations on your Sodastream Fizz. Please feel free to come back to the site and leave your own Sodastream Review on the Sodastream Fizz page once you have formed a solid opinion on how it performs. – Take care, Luke

  22. Carrie
    October 10, 2011 | 7:07 AM

    Thanks for the awesome review! I was hoping to buy one as my husbands christmas present but when I clicked on the link for “where to buy” the link appeared broken. I tried searching for the manufacturer’s website and it turned out that it was broken as well. Is Sodastream still in business? I am worried that I won’t be able to get more carbonators. Crossing my fingers that they were just doing periodic website maintenance.

    • Luke
      October 10, 2011 | 8:42 AM

      Hi Carrie, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and taking the time to leave a comment. I am happy you found my Sodastream Reviews to be helpful.

      Sodastream is not only still in business but their business is thriving and growing by leaps and bounds. The Where to Buy Database is up again and I see several new retailers listed in the database. Based on what I am seeing, it looks like they are performing some significant site maintenance this morning. The online store is currently offline but I doubt it will be down for long. It will be interesting to see what updates they have made when it comes back online.

      The carbonator exchange program used to be a bit challenging but it has seen some major improvements over the last year. Unless you live in a fairly rural area, you should have at least one local retailer participating in the exchange program but check the link again to see what your local options are. If you don’t have a local exchange program, you can always go direct to Sodastream. They now ship everything via UPS and carbonator exchange shipments include a pre-paid box to return spent carbonators. These pre-paid boxes can be dropped off at any UPS location including authorized agents and UPS Stores. I have not received any complaints about their exchange program since their switch to UPS.

      Thanks again for visiting my Sodastream Review site. Please don’t hesitate to leave another comment or contact me privately should you have any other questions. – Take care, Luke

      • Luke
        October 10, 2011 | 8:57 AM

        Quick Sodastream Review Update:

        I just wanted to make a quick update to my reply above. Sodastream’s site is now back online. As I suspected, they made some significant updates. The most notable of which is the launch of a new limited edition Sodastream Fizz in partnership with a very worthwhile charitable organization. I will be updating my Sodastream Review page for the Fizz shortly and I may write a new post specifically for the charitable partnership.

  23. Donna
    September 26, 2011 | 6:42 PM

    Fantastic site, Luke!!! I did a lot of comparison shopping and reading prior to purchasing a Fountain Jet last week (without knowing about this site), but it’s nice to see all of this valuable information here and I know I will come back often to check out updates, see new posts and your replies, etc. Great job! (P.S. I’ve had my Jet now less than a week and I’ve already made nine liters of sparkling water (plus variations).)

    • Luke
      September 26, 2011 | 7:13 PM

      Hi Donna, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and leaving a comment. The kind words are most appreciated.

      Congratulations on getting your new Fountain Jet. I hope yours serves you as well as mine has served me and my coworkers. Please feel free to come back and leave a review on the Fountain Jet page once you’ve had adequate time to evaluate yours. I know others considering that model would appreciate the additional feedback.

      Thanks again for visiting the site. I wish you the best of luck in your new Sodastream Adventure. – Take good care, Luke

  24. Dave Qua
    September 20, 2011 | 12:31 PM

    Great site and very informative.
    I have one question – is it necessary for the injection tube to be below the liquid surface when carbonating. Reason I ask is that I have tried (very successfully) making ‘champagne’ by carbonating white wine – I used a chardonnay). However a bottle of wine is 750ml and does not fill the sodastream bottle to the fill line so I have had to use a bottle and a bit of the wine which is a pain. It would be much easier if I just carbonated with 750ml in the bottle.
    I realise that you are not supposed to use anything other than water in the sodastream but if you leave the carbonated wine for about 5 mins before removing the bottle from the sodastream there is no mess.

    • Luke
      September 21, 2011 | 6:49 PM

      Hi Dave, Thanks for visiting my Sodastream Review site and leaving your question. I apologize I wasn’t able to respond to your comment yesterday.

      I have never tried using the Sodastream for this so I’m not speaking from experience. When the occasion calls to carbonate something other than water, I will use a Soda Siphon for the task. With that said, I’ve talked with many Sodastream users that have successfully carbonated wine understanding the risks involved. It is not something I recommend on the site as Sodastream warns against it and states they will void your warranty if you use it to carbonate anything other than water.

      One of the things that differentiates the Sodastream from other products is the fact that the injection/carbonation tube/tip is placed below the liquid line of the bottle. This disperses the Co2 directly into the water and eliminates the need for shaking to mix in the Co2. I doubt you’ll achieve much (if any) carbonation If the tube/tip is above the liquid line without shaking to distribute the Co2. I’ve not personally tried this and envision a nasty mess if I did.

      I am assuming your Sodastream uses the 1 Liter plastic bottles. An easy fix would be to pick up one of the newer 1/2 Liter bottles that sodastream sells. This would be approximately 500 ML, less than your 750 ML bottles of wine. Good luck in your carbonating attempts and thanks again for leaving your question. – Take good care, Luke

  25. Gwennaford
    September 14, 2011 | 11:19 AM

    Loved your Sodastream review site. I only drink unflavored carbonated water & have been wanting one since they came out. But, like you, I was also hesitant to buy without any hands-on experience. It is amazing how little info the company provides, relying on catchy infomercials I suppose. I didn’t think the CO2 appeared by magic, but had a hard time discovering the secret of refilling the carbonators. Thank you for such comprehensive info and for sharing the money-saving tips.

    I have not read every topic, but in what I did read, you have answered all my questions except two: 1) why would you ever pour flat soda down the drain if you have the means to recarbonate it?; and 2) is it because the drinks cannot be fizzed after adding the flavorings for some reason?

    I will definitely buy a unit & accessories very soon, based on your info. Thanks again for sharing your mountains of research.

    • Luke
      September 14, 2011 | 12:15 PM

      Greetings! Thanks for taking the time to read my Sodastream Review and comment on the page. Your kind words and questions are very much appreciated.

      I will have to go back and rephrase the section of my page that talks about flat soda and change the verbiage a bit. It doesn’t seem my statements were as clear as I originally thought. Thank you for bringing that to my attention.

      Although I used to waste quite a bit of store bought carbonated water and soda, I have not had to waste a drop of anything I’ve made with the Sodastream. This isn’t because you can re-carbonate soda though. Sparkling or carbonated water can be re-carbonated with no problem but you cannot carbonate anything else with the Sodastream. This is due to the design of the unit which places the carbonating tip/tube (don’t know what else to call it) below the surface of the liquid. This dispenses the Co2 directly into the water and agitates it slightly to distribute the C02. This is why you don’t have to shake a Sodastream like you do a Soda Siphon. Unfortunately, this also means that any liquid other than water will fizz up and out of the until creating a huge mess if you attempt to carbonate it. Sodastream warns against attempting this and states carbonating anything other than water voids the warranty. Since you are looking at the Sodastream for unflavored carbonated water, you don’t have to worry about this. I only mention it for others that may read our comments.

      The reason I have had no waste is due to the tight hermetic seal of the sodastream caps. All my research indicated they did a better job of keeping your beverages fresher than store bought soda but I didn’t realize how well they worked until I purchased a Sodastream myself. The caps and bottles create a very nice seal that just works. I have yet to have anything I made with my Sodastream go flat before it was consumed.

      Thanks again for visiting my Sodastream Review site. There is a lot of information within the pages and posts of the site. Feel free to take your time browsing through the information and leave another comment or use my Contact Me page if you have any other questions. – Take care, Luke

  26. Reggie
    August 15, 2011 | 10:26 PM

    If you want to know every little thing there is to know about the sodastream, this is the page to read. Everything seems to be covered here. It’s a bit long but definitely worth the read. Thanks for providing this blog. It is very helpful to someone looking at getting a sodastream. Thanks!

  27. Sherece
    August 6, 2011 | 10:44 AM

    Loved the ads above. I have had my Sodastream for a couple months now (the Fountain Jet) and love,love,love it! I wish I would have seen one of those ads in the 80s or 90s! To think of how many fewer plastic bottles and aluminum cans that ended up in landfills/recycling centers because of me is crazy to try to calculate!!

    I won a contest a couple weeks ago in which I won some syrups, an extra C02 container and some bottles. These bottles are half the size of the 1 liters….. probably close to a 20oz bottle. It fits on the machine the same way, but I’ve noticed that it doesn’t stay fizzy like the bigger bottles do. I guess maybe we’re supposed to drink a whole 20 oz in one sitting! lol When making the first bottle using the smaller version, I stopped to think – how am I going to know how long to carbonate? Surely I wouldn’t need 4 “farts” in the smaller bottle! lol

    I took my Sodastream to work one day last week to “beat the heat” – we made root beer floats! It was a big hit. I still wonder how I didn’t know these existed until this summer when they’ve been around since the turn of the century! Regardless, I’m sure glad I found it now! Thanks for your review. It was fun reading through….every time you mentioned something, I was like “yes, that’s true,” or “yep – I agree!” Good Job!

    • Luke
      August 6, 2011 | 11:07 AM

      Sherece,

      Thanks so much for leaving your comments. I am really happy to hear you’ve found Sodastream and are enjoying the benefits it provides. You gave me a good chuckle and put a smile on my face this morning. I love you called the sound our Fountain Jets make what it really is…..”farts”. Sodastream can call it a buzz all they want but the sound sense every fun spirited adult and child under 12 into hysterics whenever it is used.

      I am glad you mentioned the smaller bottles. Someone wrote in asking about them this past week but I have no experience with them. I guess I’m too much of a soda addict to consider the smaller bottles. I am disappointed to hear they don’t hold their fizz as well. Can you give us an idea of how long the smaller bottles keep the drinks fizzy? I am sure others would like to know what to expect if they use them.

      Thanks again for your comments. I always appreciate people taking the time to leave comments about their experience. Take good care, Luke

  28. Wyatt
    July 17, 2011 | 12:45 PM

    I am not sure what brought me to your site. I just started looking at sodastream on a whim and am debating if it is worth it. I don’t comment on blogs but I had to say something about yours. This Blog is going places, the people, the way you interact with your readers, the layout, amazing to see such dedication and focus from a blogger. My hat’s off to you my friend!

    • Luke
      July 20, 2011 | 2:45 PM

      Thanks Wyatt…I appreciate your comments. It is nice to know folks appreciate the site.

  29. Joane T.
    July 15, 2011 | 7:32 PM

    What an AWSOME idea! I don’t even know how I landed on your site but I find this sodastream thing very interesting. I had no idea such a thing existed but now I’m going to have to check it out. Thanks!

  30. K. Pettersen
    July 10, 2011 | 9:28 PM

    Nice site and nice reviews.

    I just wondered, have you ever heard of, tried, or seen the other sodamachines from other companies?

    Like Wassermaxx or Aqvia for example?

    Maybe they’re not available in america but in Scandinavia they’re pretty common. Sodastream still dominates here “unfortunately” but they have a small piece of the market.

    I personally got a wassermaxx machine the other day and I like it better because it doesn’t make the “fart” noise sodastream does.

    Here’s a few links if you’re interested.

    Aqvia’s especially are really nice looking machines.

    Here’s some links.

    http://www.aqvia.com
    http://www.wassermaxx.com

    Another thing I like with the wassermaxx machine over Sodastream is that you don’t screw in the bottle, you just put it in and locks it with a small twist.

    I havent tried aqvia’s machines yet but they seem best of all.

    • Luke
      July 11, 2011 | 10:48 AM

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. I had to laugh at your reference to the “fart” noise. Sodastream can call it a “buzz” all they want but it is what it is. I always get a kick out of watching the reaction of first time users when they hear the noise. It always sends the kids (and many adults) into a fit of laughter when they hear it the first time. This along with not needing to screw in the bottle are two of the reasons the Sodastream Penguin stands above the other models. Of course, the superior construction, operation and design of the Penguin also has a lot to do with that.

      I have heard of both the Wassermaxx and Aqvia machines. Unfortunately, they are not yet available here in the states. It is my hope they make it here in the near future. A bit of healthy competition could only serve to improve the product and drive down costs to consumers. We do have other alternatives such as the Soda Siphon and the Twist ‘n Sparkle available here. I have yet to test the Twist ‘n Sparkle but the Soda Siphon just doesn’t stack up against the Sodastream products in my humble opinion. I am always keeping an eye out for competing products that are worthy of review so I appreciate you mentioning these. I’ll be taking a very close look at them if they ever make it to this side of the pond.

      Thanks again for taking the time to leave your comments. Take good care – Luke

  31. Bill S.
    July 10, 2011 | 8:47 PM

    This is really great and useful info on the SodaStream. I am glad I found your site and discovered this page. This is the most helpful information I have found to date. Please keep up the good work and thanks for sharing.

    • Luke
      July 11, 2011 | 9:50 PM

      Thanks Bill…I am glad you found this page useful – Luke

  32. Jessica
    July 5, 2011 | 6:26 AM

    Thank you for putting all this information together on the sodastream. I am like you and look at all the details of something before I jump into it. It would have taken me forever to find all this information without your site. Thanks!

    • Luke
      July 5, 2011 | 12:40 PM

      Hi Jessica, Thanks for taking the time to visit my site and leave comments. I am glad you appreciate the detail that went into writing this type of review. I realize this is much more than your average reader is looking for. This is why you see more condensed reviews across the rest of the site. This page is for people like us that want a very detailed sodastream review to look at all aspects of the product. Thanks again for the comment. Take good care, Luke

  33. James Hamilton
    June 26, 2011 | 7:49 PM

    Good post… Quick question, though: how do you handle people who argue with this post?

    • Luke
      June 30, 2011 | 12:06 PM

      James, I apologize it took a while before your comment appeared. You were caught by my spam/security software for some reason. I get well over 100 spam comments per day so it took me a while to sort through them and find yours. You pose an interesting question that i have thought about a great deal. If you scour the site and view all comments, you will see a few that are not completely positive. I welcome differing opinions within comments and encourage my readers/visitors to leave comments with their own impressions of the Sodastream. The purpose of this site is to help those researching the Sodastream Home Soda Maker determine if it is right for them. Differing opinions and perspectives can only serve to aid in this goal. As long as comments are not offensive to my readers, they appear on the site. Offensive comments and/or spam comments strictly for the purpose of adding links to unrelated material are left in the spam filter. This is my only real limitation in the comments that appear on this site. I encourage open dialog with myself and other readers in hopes it aids others in making an educated decision. – Take good care, Luke

  34. Dave
    June 1, 2011 | 10:33 AM

    I’ve really enjoyed my sodastream. I bought an extra one for the office too. It is so much more convenient than dragging 2liter sodas around the grocery store and much cheaper than buying individual 20oz bottles. Also, my soda is always cold now, I just keep the bottles full of water in the fridge and make the soda just before I drink it so I can choose the flavor at the last second. I hardly ever have to add ice and water down my soda anymore. Your review is great, I didn’t realize there were so many other versions of the sodastream. I’m happy with the one(s) I got though. We have a local Bed Bath and Beyond that can swap out the cannister and get extra syrup. The kids really love it. I’ve tried carbonating other things but that mostly just made a big mess. Will have to experiment with fruit juices like you mention here.

    • Luke
      June 2, 2011 | 7:39 PM

      Thanks for leaving your comments Dave!

  35. Alice L
    May 5, 2011 | 12:02 PM

    This was a really good read for me. I agree that you are one of the coolest bloggers I ever saw. Thanks for posting so much useful information about the sodastream. This site was just what I was on looking for but I didn’t expect you to give me so much to think about. I’ll have to come back when I have time to read through everything again.

  36. Bartley
    April 20, 2011 | 8:27 AM

    This web site is really a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about Sodastream and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll definitely discover it.

Leave a Reply